Domri Rade Modern Masters 2017 Edition Falkenrath Aristocrat

Evil Twin Evil Twin English

Creature — Shapeshifter 0/0, 2UB (4)

You may have Evil Twin enter the battlefield as a copy of any creature on the battlefield, except it gains "{U}{B}, {T}: Destroy target creature with the same name as this creature."

You can always tell the evil one by the dagger he's sticking in you.

Illus. Greg Staples

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 3/14/2017: Evil Twin copies exactly what was printed on the original creature (unless that creature is copying something else or is a token; see below) and it gains the activated ability. It doesn’t copy whether that creature is tapped or untapped, whether it has any counters on it or any Auras and Equipment attached to it, or any non-copy effects that have changed its power, toughness, types, color, or so on.
  • 3/14/2017: The activated ability that Evil Twin gains as part of its copy effect is a copiable value that other effects may copy.
  • 3/14/2017: If the chosen creature has {X} in its mana cost, X is considered to be 0.
  • 3/14/2017: If the chosen creature is copying something else (for example, if the chosen creature is another Evil Twin), then your Evil Twin enters the battlefield as whatever the chosen creature copied.
  • 3/14/2017: If the chosen creature is a token, Evil Twin copies the original characteristics of that token as stated by the effect that created the token. Evil Twin is not a token in this case.
  • 3/14/2017: Unless a token is a copy of another creature or was explicitly given a name by the effect that created it, its name is the creature types it was given when it was created. For example, the Beast tokens created by Thragtusk and by Baloth Cage Trap are both named “Beast.”
  • 3/14/2017: Any enters-the-battlefield abilities of the copied creature will trigger when Evil Twin enters the battlefield. Any “as [this creature] enters the battlefield” or “[this creature] enters the battlefield with” abilities of the chosen creature will also work.
  • 3/14/2017: If Evil Twin somehow enters the battlefield at the same time as another creature, Evil Twin can’t become a copy of that creature. You may only choose a creature that’s already on the battlefield.
  • 3/14/2017: You can choose not to copy anything. In that case, Evil Twin enters the battlefield as a 0/0 creature, and is probably put into the graveyard immediately.
#162 (Greg Staples)

English Modern Masters 2017 Edition (Rare)
English Innistrad (Rare)

German Böser Zwilling
French Jumeau maléfique
Italian Gemello Cattivo
Spanish Gemelo malvado
Portuguese Gêmeo Malévolo
Japanese 邪悪な双子
Simplified Chinese 邪恶双生子
Russian Злой Двойник
Traditional Chinese 邪惡雙生子

all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Evil Twin
View Decks with Evil Twin
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:

The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.