Extras (Hero): The Explorer
Cultivate Archenemy: Nicol Bolas Fertilid

Explore Explore English

Sorcery, 1G (2)

You may play an additional land this turn.

Draw a card.

An explorer's reward is a view of tomorrow's possibilities.

Illus. John Avon

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 3/14/2017: Explore's effect allows you to play an additional land during your main phase. Doing so follows the normal timing rules for playing lands. In particular, you don't get to play a land as Explore resolves; Explore fully resolves first and draws a card, perhaps a land you'll play later.
  • 3/14/2017: The effects of multiple Explores in the same turn are cumulative. They're also cumulative with other effects that let you play additional lands, such as the one from Urban Evolution.
  • 3/14/2017: If you somehow manage to cast Explore when it's not your turn, you'll draw a card when it resolves, but you won't be able to play a land that turn.
Printings:
#63 (John Avon)

Editions:
English Archenemy: Nicol Bolas (Common)
English Modern Masters 2017 Edition (Common)
English Duel Decks: Kiora vs. Elspeth (Common)
English Worldwake (Common)

Languages:
German Erkunden
French Explorer
Italian Esplorare
Spanish Explorar
Portuguese Explorar
Japanese 探検
Simplified Chinese 探索大地
Russian На Поиски
Korean Explore


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Explore
View Decks with Explore
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.