Keldon Champion Premium Deck Series: Fire and Lightning Chain Lightning

Fire Servant Fire Servant English

Creature — Elemental 4/3, 3RR (5)

If a red instant or sorcery spell you control would deal damage, it deals double that damage instead.

"Elemental fire shimmers with rose hues and, unlike terrestrial blazes, smolders long after it's extinguished."
—Jestus Dreya, Of Elements and Eternity

Illus. Ryan Yee

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 8/15/2010: Fire Servant's ability applies no matter who or what the damage would be dealt to: a creature, a player, or a planeswalker.
  • 8/15/2010: If a red instant or sorcery spell you control causes damage to be dealt, that spell will always identify the source of the damage. In most cases, the source is the spell itself. For example, Lightning Bolt says “Lightning Bolt deals 3 damage to target creature or player.” Such a spell is affected by Fire Servant's ability. If the source of the damage is something else (for example, if the spell is Soul's Fire, which says “Target creature you control on the battlefield deals damage equal to its power to target creature or player”), it isn't affected by Fire Servant's ability.
  • 8/15/2010: If multiple effects modify how damage will be dealt, the player who would be dealt damage or the controller of the permanent that would be dealt damage chooses the order to apply the effects. For example, Mending Hands says, “Prevent the next 4 damage that would be dealt to target creature or player this turn” and Lava Axe is a red sorcery that says “Lava Axe deals 5 damage to target player.” Suppose a Lava Axe controlled by a player who controls Fire Servant would deal 5 damage to a player who has cast Mending Hands targeting him or herself. The player who would be dealt damage can either (a) prevent 4 damage first and then let Fire Servant's effect double the remaining 1 damage, taking 2 damage, or (b) double the damage to 10 and then prevent 4 damage, taking 6 damage.
  • 8/15/2010: If a red instant or sorcery spell you control divides damage among multiple recipients (such as Fireball does), the damage is divided before Fire Servant's effect doubles it.
  • 8/15/2010: If you control more than one Fire Servant, the effects are cumulative. Two such effects will cause damage from red instant or sorcery spells you control to be multiplied by four; three such effects will cause damage from red instant or sorcery spells you control to be multiplied by eight.
Printings:
#15 (Ryan Yee)

Editions:
English Premium Deck Series: Fire and Lightning (Uncommon)
English Magic 2011 (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Diener des Feuers
French Servant de feu
Italian Servitore di Fuoco
Spanish Sirviente de fuego
Portuguese Servo do Fogo
Japanese 火の召使い
Simplified Chinese 火仆役
Russian Огненный Слуга
Traditional Chinese 火僕役


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Fire Servant
View Decks with Fire Servant
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.