Ghostly Sentinel Battle for Zendikar Gideon's Reproach

Gideon, Ally of Zendikar Gideon, Ally of Zendikar English

Legendary Planeswalker — Gideon (Loyalty: 4), 2WW (4)

+1: Until end of turn, Gideon, Ally of Zendikar becomes a 5/5 Human Soldier Ally creature with indestructible that's still a planeswalker. Prevent all damage that would be dealt to him this turn.

0: Create a 2/2 white Knight Ally creature token.

−4: You get an emblem with "Creatures you control get +1/+1."

Illus. Eric Deschamps

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 8/25/2015: Gideon's first ability doesn't count as a creature entering the battlefield. Gideon was already on the battlefield; he only changed his types. Specifically, your rally abilities won't trigger. (Of course, Gideon's second ability will cause rally abilities to trigger.)
  • 8/25/2015: If Gideon becomes a creature the same turn he enters the battlefield, you can't attack with him or use any of his {tap} abilities (if he gains any).
  • 8/25/2015: Gideon's first ability causes him to become a creature with the creature types Human, Soldier, and Ally. He remains a planeswalker with the planeswalker type Gideon. (He also retains any other card types or subtypes he may have had.) Each subtype is correlated to the proper card type: planeswalker is only a type (not a creature type), and Human, Soldier, and Ally are just creature types (not planeswalker types).
  • 8/25/2015: If damage that can't be prevented is dealt to Gideon after his first ability has resolved, that damage will have all applicable results: specifically, the damage is marked on Gideon (since he's a creature) and that damage causes that many loyalty counters to be removed from him (since he's a planeswalker). Even though he has indestructible, if Gideon has no loyalty counters on him, he's put into his owner's graveyard.
#29 (Eric Deschamps)

English Battle for Zendikar (Mythic Rare)
English Prerelease Events (Special)

German Gideon, Verbündeter von Zendikar
French Gideon, allié de Zendikar
Italian Gideon, Alleato di Zendikar
Spanish Gideon, aliado de Zendikar
Portuguese Gideon, Aliado de Zendikar
Japanese ゼンディカーの同盟者、ギデオン
Simplified Chinese 赞迪卡伙伴基定
Russian Гидеон, Союзник Зендикара
Traditional Chinese 贊迪卡伙伴基定
Korean 젠디카르의 동맹 기디온

all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Gideon, Ally of Zendikar
View Decks with Gideon, Ally of Zendikar
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:

The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.