Forerunner of the Coalition Rivals of Ixalan Grasping Scoundrel

Golden Demise Golden Demise English

Sorcery, 1BB (3)

Ascend (If you control ten or more permanents, you get the city's blessing for the rest of the game.)

All creatures get -2/-2 until end of turn. If you have the city's blessing, instead only creatures your opponents control get -2/-2 until end of turn.

Illus. Deruchenko Alexander

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 1/19/2018: Golden Demise affects only creatures that are on the battlefield at the time it resolves. Creatures that enter the battlefield later in the turn won't get -2/-2. Similarly, if you have the city's blessing, creatures that come under your opponents' control later in the turn won't get -2/-2.
  • 1/19/2018: Once you have the city's blessing, you have it for the rest of the game, even if you lose control of some or all of your permanents. The city's blessing isn't a permanent itself and can't be removed by any effect.
  • 1/19/2018: A permanent is any object on the battlefield, including tokens and lands. Spells and emblems aren't permanents.
  • 1/19/2018: If you cast a spell with ascend, you don't get the city's blessing until it resolves. Players may respond to that spell by trying to change whether you get the city's blessing.
  • 1/19/2018: If you control ten permanents but don't control a permanent or resolving spell with ascend, you don't get the city's blessing. For example, if you control ten permanents, lose control of one, then cast Golden Demise, you won't have the city's blessing and the spell will affect creatures you control.
  • 1/19/2018: If your tenth permanent enters the battlefield and then a permanent leaves the battlefield immediately afterwards (most likely due to the “Legend Rule” or due to being a creature with 0 toughness), you get the city's blessing before it leaves the battlefield.
Printings:
#73 (Deruchenko Alexander)

Editions:
English Rivals of Ixalan (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Goldener Untergang
French Décès doré
Italian Dipartita Dorata
Spanish Defunción dorada
Portuguese Perecimento Dourado
Japanese 黄金の死
Simplified Chinese 金光殒命
Russian Золотая Гибель
Traditional Chinese 金光殞命
Korean 황금빛 종말


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Golden Demise
View Decks with Golden Demise
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.