Paladin of Prahv Duel Decks: Knights vs. Dragons Reciprocate

Harm's Way Harm's Way English

Instant, W (1)

The next 2 damage that a source of your choice would deal to you and/or permanents you control this turn is dealt to target creature or player instead.

Even when fate is already written, there's always time to change the names.

Illus. Dan Scott

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2009: As you cast Harm's Way, you target the creature or player that the redirected damage will be dealt to. As Harm's Way resolves, you choose a source of damage. You never choose the original recipient of the damage; Harm's Way will apply to whatever the chosen source tries to deal damage to, as long as it's you or a permanent you control.
  • 10/1/2009: Harm's Way can affect damage that would be dealt to a planeswalker you control (as well as damage that would be dealt to you, or to a creature you control).
  • 10/1/2009: If the chosen source would deal just 1 damage to you or a permanent you control, Harm's Way's effect will redirect that damage and still have a “shield” left for another 1 damage from that source later in the turn.
  • 10/1/2009: If the chosen source would simultaneously deal damage to multiple permanents you control (like Pyroclasm could) or to you and at least one permanent you control (like Earthquake could), Harm's Way will redirect just 2 of that damage. It won't redirect the next 2 damage that would be dealt to each recipient. You choose which 2 damage is redirected. If you like, you can choose to redirect 1 damage that would be dealt by the chosen source to each of two different recipients.
  • 10/1/2009: After Harm's Way resolves, it no longer checks to see if the targeted creature or player is a legal target. However, if that creature or player can't be dealt damage at the time the chosen source would deal damage (perhaps because the creature is no longer on the battlefield or is no longer a creature, or because the player is no longer in the game), the damage can't be redirected. It's dealt to the original recipient.
  • 10/1/2009: Harm's Way has no effect on damage that's already been dealt.
Printings:
#23 (Dan Scott)

Editions:
English Duel Decks: Knights vs. Dragons (Uncommon)
English Magic 2010 (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Schicksalspfad
French Mise en danger
Italian In Pericolo
Spanish En peligro
Portuguese Caminho do Perigo
Japanese 危害のあり方
Simplified Chinese 险境
Russian Путь Беды


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Harm's Way
View Decks with Harm's Way
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.