Glorybringer Amonkhet Hazoret the Fervent

Harsh Mentor Harsh Mentor English

Creature — Human Cleric 2/2, 1R (2)

Whenever an opponent activates an ability of an artifact, creature, or land on the battlefield, if it isn't a mana ability, Harsh Mentor deals 2 damage to that player.

"Fight through it."

Illus. Shreya Shetty

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 4/18/2017: Activated abilities contain a colon. They're generally written “[Cost]: [Effect].” Some keyword abilities (such as equip) are activated abilities and will have colons in their reminder text. An activated mana ability is one that produces mana as it resolves, not one that costs mana to activate. Notably, exerting a creature isn't an activated ability.
  • 4/18/2017: Harsh Mentor's ability doesn't trigger when an opponent activates an ability of a card in hand (such as cycling) or a card in a graveyard (such as embalm), even if that causes a card to be put onto the battlefield.
  • 4/18/2017: Harsh Mentor's ability resolves before the ability that caused it to trigger.
#135 (Shreya Shetty)

English Amonkhet (Rare)

German Harscher Mentor
French Mentor exigeant
Italian Mentore Severo
Spanish Mentor riguroso
Portuguese Mentor Austero
Japanese 過酷な指導者
Simplified Chinese 严厉明师
Russian Строгий Наставник
Traditional Chinese 嚴厲明師
Korean 가혹한 스승

all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Harsh Mentor
View Decks with Harsh Mentor
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:

The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.