Gishath, Sun's Avatar Ixalan Huatli, Warrior Poet

Hostage Taker Hostage Taker English

Creature — Human Pirate 2/3, 2UB (4)

When Hostage Taker enters the battlefield, exile another target creature or artifact until Hostage Taker leaves the battlefield. You may cast that card for as long as it remains exiled, and you may spend mana as though it were mana of any type to cast that spell.

Illus. Wayne Reynolds

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 9/29/2017: Hostage Taker has received errata to prevent it from targeting itself. The correct Oracle wording appears above.
  • 9/29/2017: If Hostage Taker leaves the battlefield before its triggered ability resolves, the target permanent won't be exiled.
  • 9/29/2017: Auras attached to the exiled permanent will be put into their owners' graveyards. Any Equipment will become unattached and remain on the battlefield. Any counters on the exiled permanent will cease to exist.
  • 9/29/2017: If a token is exiled this way, it will cease to exist and won't return to the battlefield. You can't cast it.
  • 9/29/2017: Once you begin to cast the exiled card, it's considered a new object. You'll control that spell and the permanent that spell becomes even if Hostage Taker leaves the battlefield.
  • 9/29/2017: If it's still in exile, the exiled card returns to the battlefield immediately after Hostage Taker leaves the battlefield. Nothing happens between the two events, including state-based actions.
  • 9/29/2017: In a multiplayer game, if Hostage Taker's owner leaves the game while the card is still exiled and another player owns that card, the exiled card will return to the battlefield under its owner's control. Because the one-shot effect that returns the card isn't an ability that goes on the stack, it won't cease to exist along with the leaving player's spells and abilities on the stack.
  • 9/29/2017: In a multiplayer game, if a player leaves the game, all cards that player owns leave as well. If you leave the game, any spell or permanent cards you control from Hostage Taker's ability are exiled.
Printings:
#223 (Wayne Reynolds)

Editions:
English Ixalan (Rare)

Languages:
German Geiselnehmerin
French Preneuse d'otage
Italian Sequestratrice di Ostaggi
Spanish Secuestradora
Portuguese Tomadora de Reféns
Japanese 人質取り
Simplified Chinese 人质挟匪
Russian Захватчица Заложников
Traditional Chinese 人質挾匪
Korean 인질범


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Hostage Taker
View Decks with Hostage Taker
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.