Inspiring Cleric Ixalan Kinjalli's Caller

Ixalan's Binding Ixalan's Binding English

Enchantment, 3W (4)

When Ixalan's Binding enters the battlefield, exile target nonland permanent an opponent controls until Ixalan's Binding leaves the battlefield.

Your opponents can't cast spells with the same name as the exiled card.

Jace awoke to the certainty that he was lost.

Illus. Chase Stone

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 9/29/2017: If Ixalan's Binding leaves the battlefield before its triggered ability resolves, the target permanent won't be exiled.
  • 9/29/2017: Auras attached to the exiled permanent will be put into their owners' graveyards. Any Equipment will become unattached and remain on the battlefield. Any counters on the exiled permanent will cease to exist.
  • 9/29/2017: If a token is exiled this way, it will cease to exist and won't return to the battlefield.
  • 9/29/2017: The exiled card returns to the battlefield immediately after Ixalan's Binding leaves the battlefield. Nothing happens between the two events, including state-based actions.
  • 9/29/2017: If the exiled card has a different name in exile than it did on the battlefield, Ixalan's Binding stops players from casting spells with the name of that card as it exists in exile.
  • 9/29/2017: If the exiled card is a land card that's become a nonland permanent, Ixalan's Binding won't stop players from playing lands with that name.
  • 9/29/2017: If there is no exiled card (perhaps because the exiled permanent was a token or was a commander that moved to the command zone in the Commander variant), Ixalan's Binding won't stop players from casting spells.
  • 9/29/2017: In a multiplayer game, if Ixalan's Binding's owner leaves the game and another player owns the exiled card, the exiled card will return to the battlefield under its owner's control. Because the one-shot effect that returns the card isn't an ability that goes on the stack, it won't cease to exist along with the leaving player's spells and abilities on the stack.
  • 1/19/2018: There are many important moments in the story, but the most crucial—called “story spotlights”—are shown on cards. These cards have the Planeswalker symbol in their text box; this symbol has no effect on gameplay. You can read more about these events in the official Magic fiction at
#17 (Chase Stone)

English Ixalan (Uncommon)

German Ixalans Bann
French Entrave d'Ixalan
Italian Vincolo di Ixalan
Spanish Reclusión de Ixalan
Portuguese Aprisionamento de Ixalan
Japanese イクサランの束縛
Simplified Chinese 依夏兰的束缚
Russian Узы Иксалана
Traditional Chinese 依夏蘭的束縛
Korean 익살란의 구속

all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Ixalan's Binding
View Decks with Ixalan's Binding
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:

The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.