Inalla, Archmage Ritualist Commander 2017 Licia, Sanguine Tribune

Kess, Dissident Mage Kess, Dissident Mage English

Legendary Creature — Human Wizard 3/4, 1UBR (4)

Flying

During each of your turns, you may cast an instant or sorcery card from your graveyard. If a card cast this way would be put into your graveyard this turn, exile it instead.

"Loss has no meaning here. You cannot take from those who have nothing."

Illus. Izzy

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 8/25/2017: You must follow the normal timing permissions and restrictions of the card you cast from your graveyard.
  • 8/25/2017: You must pay the costs to cast that card. If it has an alternative cost, you may cast it for that cost instead.
  • 8/25/2017: Once you begin to cast the card, losing control of Kess won't affect the spell. You can finish casting it as normal and it will be exiled if it would be put into your graveyard this turn.
  • 8/25/2017: If you cast a card from your graveyard using another effect, such as that of flashback, Kess's effect doesn't apply. You can cast another instant or sorcery card from your graveyard.
  • 8/25/2017: If you cast one instant or sorcery card from your graveyard and then have a new Kess come under your control in the same turn, you may cast another instant or sorcery card from your graveyard that turn.
  • 8/25/2017: If a sorcery card is put into your graveyard during your main phase and the stack is empty, you have a chance to cast it before any player may attempt to remove that card from your graveyard.
  • 8/25/2017: If a spell cast this way is put into another zone after it resolves (perhaps because it had buyback), it's considered a new object. If that card later moves to your graveyard, it won't be exiled.
Printings:
#39 (Izzy)

Editions:
English Commander 2017 (Mythic Rare)

Languages:
German Kess, abtrünnige Magierin
French Kess, mage insoumise
Italian Kess, Maga Dissidente
Spanish Kess, maga disidente
Portuguese Kess, Maga Dissidente
Japanese 反体制魔道士、ケス


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Kess, Dissident Mage
View Decks with Kess, Dissident Mage
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.