Island Duel Decks: Venser vs. Koth Plated Geopede

Koth of the Hammer Koth of the Hammer English

Legendary Planeswalker — Koth (Loyalty: 3), 2RR (4)

+1: Untap target Mountain. It becomes a 4/4 red Elemental creature until end of turn. It's still a land.

−2: Add {R} to your mana pool for each Mountain you control.

−5: You get an emblem with "Mountains you control have ‘{T}: This land deals 1 damage to target creature or player.'"

Illus. Eric Deschamps

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 1/1/2011: Emblems behave similarly to enchantments: They have an ability that, in a general sense, continually affects the game. The primary difference between them is that emblems aren't permanents and don't exist on the battlefield. Nothing in the game can remove an emblem, simply because no other spell or ability references them. Once you get an emblem, you keep it for the rest of the game. Emblems have no color, name, card type, or other characteristics beyond the listed ability.
  • 1/1/2011: Koth's first ability can target any Mountain, including an untapped Mountain and/or a Mountain another player controls.
  • 1/1/2011: If Koth's first ability animates a Mountain that came under your control that turn, it will have “summoning sickness” and be unable to attack. It will also be unable to be tapped to activate an ability with the {tap} symbol in its cost, such as the Mountain's mana ability or the ability granted to it by Koth's emblem.
  • 1/1/2011: Loyalty abilities can't be mana abilities. Koth's second ability uses the stack and can be countered or otherwise responded to. Like all loyalty abilities, it can be activated only once per turn, during your main phase, when the stack is empty, and only if no other loyalty abilities of this permanent have been activated this turn.
  • 1/1/2011: Koth's emblem grants an activated ability to each Mountain you control at any given time for the rest of the game. It will continuously check which permanents you control are Mountains to determine what has the ability. For example, a Mountain that comes under your control later in the game will have the ability, while a Mountain you controlled at the time the emblem was created, but that later came under the control of another player, will no longer have the ability.
#44 (Eric Deschamps)

English Duel Decks: Venser vs. Koth (Mythic Rare)
English Scars of Mirrodin (Mythic Rare)

German Koth vom Hammerclan
French Koth du Marteau
Italian Koth del Martello
Spanish Koth del Martillo
Portuguese Koth do Martelo
Japanese 槌のコス
Simplified Chinese 锤族的寇斯
Russian Кос из Племени Молота
Traditional Chinese 鎚族的寇斯

all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Koth of the Hammer
View Decks with Koth of the Hammer
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:

The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.