Kemba, Kha Regent Commander 2017 Leonin Relic-Warder

Leonin Arbiter Leonin Arbiter English

Creature — Cat Cleric 2/2, 1W (2)

Players can't search libraries. Any player may pay {2} for that player to ignore this effect until end of turn.

"Our people are torn by infighting. Until the two sides reconcile, our laws can carry no meaning."

Illus. Shelly Wan

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 1/1/2011: If an effect says “You may search your library . . . If you do, shuffle your library,” and you haven’t paid {2}, you can’t choose to search, so you won’t shuffle.
  • 1/1/2011: If an effect says “Search your library . . . Then shuffle your library,” and you haven’t paid {2}, the search effect fails, but you will still have to shuffle.
  • 1/1/2011: Since players who haven’t paid {2} can’t search, they won’t be able to find any cards in a library. The effect applies to all players and all libraries. If a spell or ability’s effect has other parts that don’t depend on searching for or finding cards, they will still work normally.
  • 1/1/2011: Effects that tell a player to reveal cards from a library or look at cards from the top of a library will still work. Only effects that use the word “search” will fail unless a player pays {2}.
  • 1/1/2011: Paying {2} to ignore Leonin Arbiter’s effect is a special action. Any player may take this special action any time he or she has priority. It doesn’t use the stack and can’t be responded to.
  • 1/1/2011: Paying {2} doesn’t let a player pick up a library and search it — it just allows him or her to ignore Leonin Arbiter’s effect that turn. That player can search a library only if another spell or ability instructs him or her to do so.
  • 1/1/2011: If a player pays {2}, that enables only him or her to ignore Leonin Arbiter’s effect that turn. Each other player is still affected by it.
  • 1/1/2011: A player who has paid {2} may search any library when instructed to do so that turn, not just his or her own library.
  • 1/1/2011: Once a player has paid {2}, he or she may search libraries that turn as many times as he or she is instructed to do so.
  • 1/1/2011: If there are multiple Leonin Arbiters on the battlefield, a player must pay {2} for each one before being able to search libraries that turn.
Printings:
#64 (Shelly Wan)

Editions:
English Commander 2017 (Rare)
English Scars of Mirrodin (Rare)

Languages:
German Leoniden-Schlichter
French Arbitre léonin
Italian Giudice Leonid
Spanish Árbitro leonino
Portuguese Árbitro Leonino
Japanese レオニンの裁き人
Simplified Chinese 狮族仲裁者
Russian Леонинский Судья
Traditional Chinese 獅族仲裁者


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Leonin Arbiter
View Decks with Leonin Arbiter
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.