Kiln Fiend Iconic Masters Mark of Mutiny

Magus of the Moon Magus of the Moon English

Creature — Human Wizard 2/2, 2R (3)

Nonbasic lands are Mountains.

Tidal forces of the blood moon wrench and buckle the land, drawing monoliths of stone and soil toward the flaming orb.

Illus. Franz Vohwinkel

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 9/29/2017: If a nonbasic land has an ability that causes it to enter the battlefield tapped, it will lose that ability before it applies. The same is also true of any other abilities that modify how a land enters the battlefield or apply “as” a land enters the battlefield, such as the first ability of Cavern of Souls. This is a change from previous rulings.
  • 11/17/2017: Nonbasic lands lose any other land types and abilities they had. They gain the land type Mountain and gain the ability “{tap}: Add {R} to your mana pool.”
  • 11/17/2017: Magus of the Moon's effect doesn't affect names or supertypes. It won't turn any land into a basic land or remove the legendary supertype from a legendary land, and the lands won't be named Mountain.
  • 11/17/2017: If a nonbasic land has an ability that triggers “when” it enters the battlefield, it will lose that ability before it triggers.
Printings:
#138 (Franz Vohwinkel)

Editions:
English Iconic Masters (Rare)
English Future Sight (Rare)

Languages:
German Magus des Mondes
French Mage de la lune
Italian Magus della Luna
Spanish Mago de la luna
Portuguese Magus da Lua
Japanese 月の大魔術師
Simplified Chinese 红月贤者
Russian Волхв Луны


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Magus of the Moon
View Decks with Magus of the Moon
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.