Kozilek's Predator Modern Masters 2015 Edition Mutagenic Growth

Matca Rioters Matca Rioters English

Creature — Human Warrior */*, 2G (3)

Domain — Matca Rioters's power and toughness are each equal to the number of basic land types among lands you control.

When outsiders interrupted the matca championship, things got ugly.

Illus. Steve Argyle

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 2/1/2009: To determine the number of basic land types among lands you control, look at the lands you have on the battlefield and ask yourself whether the subtypes Plains, Island, Swamp, Mountain, and Forest appear within that group. The number of times you say yes (topping out at five) tells you how powerful your domain abilities will be.
  • 2/1/2009: How many lands you control of a particular basic land type is irrelevant to a domain ability, as long as that number is greater than zero. As far as domain is concerned, ten Forests is the same as one Forest.
  • 2/1/2009: A number of nonbasic lands have basic land types. Domain abilities don't count the number of lands you control — they count the number of basic land types among lands you control, even if that means checking the same land twice. For example, if you control a Tundra, an Overgrown Tomb, and a Madblind Mountain, you'll have a Plains, Island, Swamp, Mountain, and Forest among the lands you control. Your domain abilities will be maxed out.
  • 2/1/2009: Matca Rioters' ability is a “characteristic-defining ability.” It applies at all times in all zones.
#148 (Steve Argyle)

English Modern Masters 2015 Edition (Common)
English Conflux (Common)

German Matca-Anfeuerer
French Émeutiers du matca
Italian Praticanti di Matca
Spanish Alborotadores de matca
Portuguese Desordeiros de Matca
Japanese マトカの暴動者
Simplified Chinese 麻卡喧闹人
Russian Разъяренные Мадкоборцы

all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Matca Rioters
View Decks with Matca Rioters
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:

The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.