Merchant of Secrets Commander 2017 Opportunity

Monastery Siege Monastery Siege English

Enchantment, 2U (3)

As Monastery Siege enters the battlefield, choose Khans or Dragons.

• Khans — At the beginning of your draw step, draw an additional card, then discard a card.

• Dragons — Spells your opponents cast that target you or a permanent you control cost {2} more to cast.

Illus. Mark Winters

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 11/24/2014: The “Khans” ability happens after you draw the card you normally draw during your draw step. That card and the additional card will be in your hand when you have to discard a card.
  • 11/24/2014: The “Dragons” ability adds {2} per spell, not per target. It won't cause a spell to cost more than {2} more to cast, even if that spell targets you and a permanent you control or more than one permanent you control.
  • 11/24/2014: Each Siege will have one of the two listed abilities, depending on your choice as it enters the battlefield.
  • 11/24/2014: The words “Khans” and “Dragons” are anchor words, connecting your choice to the appropriate ability. Anchor words are a new rules concept. “[Anchor word] — [Ability]” means “As long as you chose [anchor word] as this permanent entered the battlefield, this permanent has [ability].” Notably, the anchor word “Dragons” has no connection to the creature type Dragon.
  • 11/24/2014: Each of the last two abilities is linked to the first ability. They each refer only to the choice made as a result of the first ability. If a permanent enters the battlefield as a copy of one of the Sieges, its controller will make a new choice for that Siege. Which ability the copy has won't depend on the choice made for the original permanent.
Printings:
#88 (Mark Winters)

Editions:
English Commander 2017 (Rare)
English Fate Reforged (Rare)

Languages:
German Belagerung des Klosters
French Siège du monastère
Italian Assedio del Monastero
Spanish Asedio al monasterio
Portuguese Cerco ao Monastério
Japanese 僧院の包囲
Simplified Chinese 围攻寺院
Russian Осада Монастыря
Traditional Chinese 圍攻寺院
Korean 수도원 공성


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Monastery Siege
View Decks with Monastery Siege
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.