Mastery of the Unseen Fate Reforged Pressure Point

Monastery Mentor Monastery Mentor English

Creature — Human Monk 2/2, 2W (3)

Prowess (Whenever you cast a noncreature spell, this creature gets +1/+1 until end of turn.)

Whenever you cast a noncreature spell, create a 1/1 white Monk creature token with prowess.

"Speak little. Do much."

Illus. Magali Villeneuve

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 11/24/2014: Casting a noncreature spell will cause both prowess and Monastery Mentor's other ability to trigger. You can put these abilities on the stack in either order. Whichever ability is put on the stack last will resolve first.
  • 11/24/2014: The spell that causes Monastery Mentor's second ability to trigger will not cause the prowess ability of the Monk token that's created to trigger.
  • 11/24/2014: Any spell you cast that doesn't have the type creature will cause prowess to trigger. If a spell has multiple types, and one of those types is creature (such as an artifact creature), casting it won't cause prowess to trigger. Playing a land also won't cause prowess to trigger.
  • 11/24/2014: Prowess triggers only once for any spell, even if that spell has multiple types.
  • 11/24/2014: Prowess goes on the stack on top of the spell that caused it to trigger. It will resolve before that spell.
  • 11/24/2014: Once it triggers, prowess isn't connected to the spell that caused it to trigger. If that spell is countered, prowess will still resolve.
  • Restricted in Vintage (Type 1)
#20 (Magali Villeneuve)

English Fate Reforged (Mythic Rare)

German Mentor des Klosters
French Mentor du monastère
Italian Mentore del Monastero
Spanish Mentor del monasterio
Portuguese Mentor do Monastério
Japanese 僧院の導師
Simplified Chinese 寺院明师
Russian Монастырский Наставник
Traditional Chinese 寺院明師
Korean 수도원 스승

all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Monastery Mentor
View Decks with Monastery Mentor
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:

The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.