Extract from Darkness Archenemy: Nicol Bolas Slave of Bolas

Nicol Bolas, Planeswalker Nicol Bolas, Planeswalker English

Legendary Planeswalker — Bolas (Loyalty: 5), 4UBBR (8)

+3: Destroy target noncreature permanent.

−2: Gain control of target creature.

−9: Nicol Bolas, Planeswalker deals 7 damage to target player. That player discards seven cards, then sacrifices seven permanents.

Illus. Chris Rahn

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 2/1/2009: The control-change effect has no duration. It will last until the game ends or the affected creature leaves the battlefield. It may be superseded by a later control-change effect.
  • 7/1/2012: If the damage from Nicol Bolas's third ability is prevented or redirected, the rest of the effect will still happen. Specifically, the number of cards discarded and permanents sacrificed isn't tied to the amount of damage dealt.
  • 7/1/2012: For the third ability, if the player is an illegal target when the ability tries to resolve, the ability is countered and none of its effects will happen. No damage will be dealt, no cards will be discarded, and no permanents will be sacrificed.
#85 (Chris Rahn)

English Archenemy: Nicol Bolas (Mythic Rare)
English Magic 2013 (Mythic Rare)
English Duel Decks: Ajani vs. Nicol Bolas (Mythic Rare)
English Conflux (Mythic Rare)

German Planeswalker Nicol Bolas
French Nicol Bolas, planeswalker
Italian Nicol Bolas, Planeswalker
Spanish Nicol Bolas, planeswalker
Portuguese Nicol Bolas, Planeswalker
Japanese プレインズウォーカー、ニコル・ボーラス
Simplified Chinese 鹏洛客尼可波拉斯
Russian Никол Болас, Planeswalker
Traditional Chinese 鵬洛客尼可波拉斯
Korean 플레인즈워커 니콜 볼라스

all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Nicol Bolas, Planeswalker
View Decks with Nicol Bolas, Planeswalker
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:

The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.