Mudbutton Torchrunner Modern Masters 2017 Edition Pyrewild Shaman

Past in Flames Past in Flames English

Sorcery, 3R (4)

Each instant and sorcery card in your graveyard gains flashback until end of turn. The flashback cost is equal to its mana cost.

Flashback {4}{R} (You may cast this card from your graveyard for its flashback cost. Then exile it.)

Illus. Anna Steinbauer

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 3/14/2017: Only instant and sorcery cards in your graveyard when Past in Flames resolves will gain flashback. Instant and sorcery cards that are put into your graveyard later in the turn, including the resolving Past in Flames, won't gain flashback.
  • 3/14/2017: If you cast an instant or sorcery with {X} in its mana cost this way, you still choose the value of X as part of casting the spell and pay that cost.
  • 3/14/2017: If an instant or sorcery card in your graveyard already has flashback, you may use either flashback ability to cast it from your graveyard.
  • 3/14/2017: You may pay any optional additional costs the spell has, such as conspire costs. You must pay any mandatory additional costs the spell has, such as that of Bone Splinters.
  • 4/18/2017: For split cards, the flashback cost you pay is determined by the half you cast
#105 (Anna Steinbauer)

English Modern Masters 2017 Edition (Mythic Rare)
English Commander 2016 (Mythic Rare)
English Innistrad (Mythic Rare)

German Vergangenheit in Flammen
French Passé enflammé
Italian Passato in Fiamme
Spanish El pasado en llamas
Portuguese Passado em Chamas
Japanese 炎の中の過去
Simplified Chinese 过往成焰
Russian Полыхающее Прошлое
Traditional Chinese 過往成焰

all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Past in Flames
View Decks with Past in Flames
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:

The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.