Overgrown Armasaur Rivals of Ixalan Plummet

Path of Discovery Path of Discovery English

Enchantment, 3G (4)

Whenever a creature enters the battlefield under your control, it explores. (Reveal the top card of your library. Put that card into your hand if it's a land. Otherwise, put a +1/+1 counter on the creature, then put the card back or put it into your graveyard.)

Illus. Howard Lyon

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 1/19/2018: Path of Discovery's triggered ability triggers along with any other abilities that say that the creature explores when it enters the battlefield, including abilities that come from the creature itself or from multiples of Path of Discovery. You may take actions between each resolving ability's exploration.
  • 1/19/2018: Once an ability that causes a creature to explore begins to resolve, no player may take any other actions until it's done. Notably, opponents can't try to remove the exploring creature after you reveal a nonland card but before it receives a counter.
  • 1/19/2018: If no card is revealed, most likely because that player's library is empty, the exploring creature receives a +1/+1 counter.
  • 1/19/2018: If a resolving spell or ability instructs a specific creature to explore but that creature has left the battlefield, the creature still explores. If you reveal a nonland card this way, you won't put a +1/+1 counter on anything, but you may put the revealed card into your graveyard. Effects that trigger “whenever a creature you control explores” trigger if appropriate.
Printings:
#142 (Howard Lyon)

Editions:
English Rivals of Ixalan (Rare)

Languages:
German Pfad der Entdeckung
French Chemin de la découverte
Italian Sentiero della Scoperta
Spanish Camino del descubrimiento
Portuguese Caminho da Descoberta
Japanese 発見の道
Simplified Chinese 发现之径
Russian Путь Открытий
Traditional Chinese 發現之徑
Korean 발견의 길


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Path of Discovery
View Decks with Path of Discovery
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.