As Runed Halo enters the battlefield, choose a card name.
You have protection from the chosen name. (You can't be targeted, dealt damage, or enchanted by anything with that name.)
Illus. Steve Prescott
Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?
- 5/1/2008: Runed Halo gives you protection from each object with the chosen name, whether it’s a card, a token, or a copy of a spell. It doesn’t matter what game zone that object is in.
- 5/1/2008: You can still be attacked by creatures with the chosen name.
- 5/1/2008: You’ll have protection from the name, not from the word. For example, if you choose the name Forest, you’ll have protection from anything named “Forest” — but you won’t have protection from Forests. An animated Sapseep Forest, for example, could deal damage to you even though its subtype is Forest.
- 5/1/2008: You can name either half of a split card, but not both. You’ll have protection from the half you named (and from a fused split spell with that name), but not the other half.
- 5/1/2008: You can’t choose [nothing] as a name. Face-down creatures have no name, so Runed Halo can’t give you protection from them.
- 5/1/2008: You must choose the name of a card, not the name of a token. For example, you can’t choose “Saproling” or “Voja.” However, if a token happens to have the same name as a card (such as “Shapeshifter” or “Goldmeadow Harrier”), you can choose it.
- 5/1/2008: You may choose either one of a flip card’s names. You’ll have protection only from the appropriate version. For example, if you choose Nighteyes the Desecrator, you won’t have protection from Nezumi Graverobber.
- Legal in Vintage (Type 1)
- Legal in Legacy (Type 1.5)
- Legal in Classic (MTGO)
- Legal in Commander
- Legal in Modern
#21 (Steve Prescott)
Halo serti de runes
all prints in all languages