Raven Familiar Commander 2013 Edition Skyscribing

Sharding Sphinx Sharding Sphinx English

Artifact Creature — Sphinx 4/4, 4UU (6)


Whenever an artifact creature you control deals combat damage to a player, you may create a 1/1 blue Thopter artifact creature token with flying.

Whether mechanical or biological, life finds a way to propagate itself.

Illus. Michael Bruinsma

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2008: The only difference between a colored artifact and a colorless artifact is, obviously, its color. Unlike most artifacts, a colored artifact requires colored mana to cast. Also unlike most artifacts, a colored artifact has a color in all zones. It will interact with cards that care about color. Other than that, a colored artifact behaves just like any other artifact. It will interact as normal with any card that cares about artifacts, such as Shatter or Arcbound Ravager.
  • 10/1/2008: If combat damage is dealt to players by multiple artifact creatures you control (including, perhaps, Sharding Sphinx itself), Sharding Sphinx’s ability will trigger that many times. You’ll get that many Thopter tokens. You’ll get just one token per creature, no matter how much combat damage that creature dealt.
#56 (Michael Bruinsma)

English Commander 2013 Edition (Rare)
English Shards of Alara (Rare)

German Splitter-Sphinx
French Sphinge écailleuse
Italian Sfinge Frammentata
Spanish Esfinge fragmentadora
Portuguese Esfinge Fragmentável
Japanese 破片撒きのスフィンクス
Simplified Chinese 舞翼史芬斯
Russian Осколочный Сфинкс

all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Sharding Sphinx
View Decks with Sharding Sphinx
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:

The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.