Sanguine Glorifier Rivals of Ixalan Slaughter the Strong

Skymarcher Aspirant Skymarcher Aspirant English

Creature — Vampire Soldier 2/1, W (1)

Ascend (If you control ten or more permanents, you get the city's blessing for the rest of the game.)

Skymarcher Aspirant has flying as long as you have the city's blessing.

"I was born to glory."

Illus. Winona Nelson

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 1/19/2018: Once you have the city's blessing, you have it for the rest of the game, even if you lose control of some or all of your permanents. The city's blessing isn't a permanent itself and can't be removed by any effect.
  • 1/19/2018: A permanent is any object on the battlefield, including tokens and lands. Spells and emblems aren't permanents.
  • 1/19/2018: If you cast a spell with ascend, you don't get the city's blessing until it resolves. Players may respond to that spell by trying to change whether you get the city's blessing.
  • 1/19/2018: If you control ten permanents but don't control a permanent or resolving spell with ascend, you don't get the city's blessing. For example, if you control ten permanents, lose control of one, then cast Golden Demise, you won't have the city's blessing and the spell will affect creatures you control.
  • 1/19/2018: If your tenth permanent enters the battlefield and then a permanent leaves the battlefield immediately afterwards (most likely due to the “Legend Rule” or due to being a creature with 0 toughness), you get the city's blessing before it leaves the battlefield.
  • 1/19/2018: Ascend on a permanent isn't a triggered ability and doesn't use the stack. Players can respond to a spell that will give you your tenth permanent, but they can't respond to getting the city's blessing once you control that tenth permanent. This means that if your tenth permanent is a land you play, players can't respond before you get the city's blessing.
  • 1/19/2018: Some cards get power, toughness, and/or abilities once you have the city's blessing. If another card has an ability that triggers when creatures with certain characteristics enter the battlefield (such as Mentor of the Meek or Elemental Bond do), use the entering permanent's characteristics after you have the city's blessing to determine whether those abilities trigger. This is true even if the entering permanent is your tenth permanent.
Printings:
#21 (Winona Nelson)

Editions:
English Rivals of Ixalan (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Aufstrebende Wolkenläuferin
French Aspirante marcheciel
Italian Aspirante Aerofante
Spanish Aspirante a huesteceleste
Portuguese Aspirante a Marchadora Celeste
Japanese 空渡りの野心家
Simplified Chinese 野心天行客
Russian Дерзновенная Странница Заката
Traditional Chinese 野心天行客
Korean 하늘진군자 지망생


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Skymarcher Aspirant
View Decks with Skymarcher Aspirant
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.