Pursue Glory Amonkhet Sweltering Suns

Soul-Scar Mage Soul-Scar Mage English

Creature — Human Wizard 1/2, R (1)


If a source you control would deal noncombat damage to a creature an opponent controls, put that many -1/-1 counters on that creature instead.

Illus. Steve Argyle

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 4/18/2017: If an effect causes a creature you control to fight a creature an opponent controls, the damage is dealt simultaneously. For instance, if your 2/2 creature fights an opponent's 4/4 creature, your creature will be dealt 4 damage and your opponent's creature will have two -1/-1 counters put on it.
  • 4/18/2017: If a spell or ability an opponent controls causes a source you control to deal noncombat damage to a creature an opponent controls, that damage will be replaced with -1/-1 counters.
  • 4/18/2017: Soul-Scar Mage's effect isn't a prevention effect. Damage that can't be prevented will be replaced with -1/-1 counters.
  • 4/18/2017: If multiple prevention and/or replacement effects are trying to apply to the same damage, the controller of the creature that would be dealt damage chooses the order in which to apply them. As examples, an opponent could choose to apply the effect of Djeru's Resolve and prevent the damage rather than put -1/-1 counters on it; or an opponent could choose to convert the damage to -1/-1 counters before Insult could double it, and then Insult's effect won't apply anymore.
#148 (Steve Argyle)

English Amonkhet (Rare)

German Seelennarben-Magier
French Mage scarifiâme
Italian Mago Sfregiaspirito
Spanish Mago zaheridor de almas
Portuguese Mago Escarificador de Almas
Japanese 損魂魔道士
Simplified Chinese 灼灵法师
Russian Маг-Душегубитель
Traditional Chinese 灼靈法師
Korean 영혼난도 마도사

all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Soul-Scar Mage
View Decks with Soul-Scar Mage
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:

The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.