Ride Down Eldritch Moon Tamiyo, Field Researcher

Spell Queller Spell Queller English

Creature — Spirit 2/3, 1WU (3)

Flash

Flying

When Spell Queller enters the battlefield, exile target spell with converted mana cost 4 or less.

When Spell Queller leaves the battlefield, the exiled card's owner may cast that card without paying its mana cost.

Illus. Adam Paquette

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 7/13/2016: For spells with {X} in their mana costs, use the value chosen for X to determine if the spell's converted mana cost is 4 or less.
  • 7/13/2016: Spells that can't be countered can be exiled by Spell Queller's ability. They won't resolve.
  • 7/13/2016: If the exiled card's owner casts it, the spell has no relation to the spell that player originally cast. Any choices made for the original spell or effects affecting the original spell aren't carried over to the new one.
  • 7/13/2016: If the player casts the exiled card, he or she does so as part of the resolution of Spell Queller's last ability. The player can't wait to cast it later in the turn. Timing permissions based on the card's type are ignored, but other restrictions (such as “Cast [this card] only during combat”) are not.
  • 7/13/2016: If a player casts a card “without paying its mana cost,” he or she can't pay any alternative costs, such as emerge costs. The player can, however, pay additional costs, such as escalate costs. If the card has any mandatory additional costs, those must be paid to cast the card.
  • 7/13/2016: If the card has {X} in its mana cost, the player must choose 0 as the value of X when casting it without paying its mana cost.
  • 7/13/2016: If Spell Queller leaves the battlefield before its enters-the-battlefield triggered ability resolves, its leaves-the-battlefield triggered ability triggers, resolves, and does nothing. Then its first triggered ability resolves and exiles the spell forever.
Printings:
#189 (Adam Paquette)

Editions:
English Eldritch Moon (Rare)

Languages:
German Zauberhemmer
French Foudroyeur de sorts
Italian Spegnimagie
Spanish Cazahechizos
Portuguese Supressor de Mágicas
Japanese 呪文捕らえ
Simplified Chinese 镇咒灵
Russian Усмиритель Заклинаний
Traditional Chinese 鎮咒靈
Korean 주문을 진정시키는 자


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Spell Queller
View Decks with Spell Queller
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.