Spikeshot Elder Modern Masters 2015 Edition Splinter Twin

Spitebellows Spitebellows English

Creature — Elemental 6/1, 5R (6)

When Spitebellows leaves the battlefield, it deals 6 damage to target creature.

Evoke {1}{R}{R} (You may cast this spell for its evoke cost. If you do, it's sacrificed when it enters the battlefield.)

Disaster stalks with gaping jaws across unready lands.

Illus. Larry MacDougall

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 4/1/2008: Evoke doesn't change the timing of when you can cast the creature that has it. If you could cast that creature spell only when you could cast a sorcery, the same is true for cast it with evoke.
  • 4/1/2008: If a creature spell cast with evoke changes controllers before it enters the battlefield, it will still be sacrificed when it enters the battlefield. Similarly, if a creature cast with evoke changes controllers after it enters the battlefield but before its sacrifice ability resolves, it will still be sacrificed. In both cases, the controller of the creature at the time it left the battlefield will control its leaves-the-battlefield ability.
  • 4/1/2008: When you cast a spell by paying its evoke cost, its mana cost doesn't change. You just pay the evoke cost instead.
  • 4/1/2008: Effects that cause you to pay more or less to cast a spell will cause you to pay that much more or less while casting it for its evoke cost, too. That's because they affect the total cost of the spell, not its mana cost.
  • 4/1/2008: Whether evoke's sacrifice ability triggers when the creature enters the battlefield depends on whether the spell's controller chose to pay the evoke cost, not whether he or she actually paid it (if it was reduced or otherwise altered by another ability, for example).
  • 4/1/2008: If you're casting a spell “without paying its mana cost,” you can't use its evoke ability.
#128 (Larry MacDougall)

English Modern Masters 2015 Edition (Uncommon)
English Commander 2014 Edition (Uncommon)
English Commander 2013 Edition (Uncommon)
English Commander (Uncommon)
English Morningtide (Uncommon)

German Grollgröhler
French Soufflaigreur
Italian Ruggito Malefico
Spanish Bramador malicioso
Portuguese Bocarras Hostis
Japanese 恨み唸り
Simplified Chinese 怨吼灵
Russian Злоборык
Traditional Chinese 怨吼靈

all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Spitebellows
View Decks with Spitebellows
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:

The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.