Spell Pierce Amonkhet Invocations Attrition

Stifle Stifle English

Instant, U (1)

Counter target activated or triggered ability. (Mana abilities can't be targeted.)

Illus. Cliff Childs

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/4/2004: An activated ability has a “Cost: Effect” format. Look for the colon. A triggered ability starts with “when”, “whenever”, or “at”.
  • 10/4/2004: Turn-based actions and special actions like the normal card draw, combat damage, or turning a face-down creature face up can't be targeted.
  • 10/4/2004: It can target delayed triggered abilities. For example, a card that says “Whenever a player cycles a card, you may exile target creature. If you do, return that creature to the battlefield at the beginning of the end step.” triggers when a player cycles a card and creates a delayed trigger that happens at the beginning of the end step. You can choose to target the “at the beginning of the end step” trigger when it is placed on the stack at end of turn.
#18 (Cliff Childs)

English Amonkhet Invocations (Special)
English Conspiracy (Rare)
English World Championship Decks (Special)
English Scourge (Rare)
English Judge Gift Program (Special)

German Abwürgen
French Asphyxie
Italian Reprimere
Spanish Reprimir
Portuguese Asfixiar
Japanese もみ消し
Simplified Chinese 阻抑

all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Stifle
View Decks with Stifle
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:

The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.