Soul Warden Modern Masters 2017 Edition Terminus

Stony Silence Stony Silence English

Enchantment, 1W (2)

Activated abilities of artifacts can't be activated.

The relic's purpose? Its design? Whatever the intent, it is now a mere curiosity that breaks up the horizon.

Illus. Mark Poole

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 3/14/2017: Activated abilities contain a colon. They're generally written “[Cost]: [Effect].” Some keyword abilities, such as equip, are activated abilities and will have colons in their reminder text.
  • 3/14/2017: No abilities of artifacts can be activated, including mana abilities.
  • 3/14/2017: Stony Silence's ability affects only artifacts on the battlefield. Activated abilities that work in other zones (such as cycling) can still be activated. Triggered abilities (starting with “when,” “whenever,” or “at”) are unaffected.
#25 (Mark Poole)

English Modern Masters 2017 Edition (Rare)
English Innistrad (Rare)

German Steinerne Stille
French Silence de pierre
Italian Silenzio di Pietra
Spanish Silencio pétreo
Portuguese Silêncio Pétreo
Japanese 石のような静寂
Simplified Chinese 沉重静寂
Russian Гробовое Молчание
Traditional Chinese 沈重靜寂

all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Stony Silence
View Decks with Stony Silence
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:

The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.