Sage of Lat-Nam Antiquities Argothian Pixies

Transmute Artifact Transmute Artifact English

Sorcery, UU (2)

Sacrifice an artifact. If you do, search your library for an artifact card. If that card's converted mana cost is less than or equal to the sacrificed artifact's converted mana cost, put it onto the battlefield. If it's greater, you may pay {X}, where X is the difference. If you do, put it onto the battlefield. If you don't, put it into its owner's graveyard. Then shuffle your library.

Illus. Anson Maddocks

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/4/2004: Additional mana spent to cover the differences in mana costs is not part of the mana cost of this spell. It is spent during spell resolution.
  • 10/4/2004: The one from the library enters the battlefield when the spell is resolved, and this does not count as the casting of an artifact.
  • 10/4/2004: You can't sacrifice more than one artifact to this spell.
  • 10/4/2004: If the chosen artifact costs less than or the same as the sacrificed artifact, you simply put it onto the battlefield without paying any additional costs.
  • 10/4/2004: Because the “search” requires you to find a card with certain characteristics, you don't have to find the card if you don't want to.
  • 1/1/2011: The sacrifice of an artifact is an effect of the spell, not a cost, which means it happens as the spell resolves. If Transmute Artifact is countered, you do not have to sacrifice an artifact.
Printings:
#58 (Anson Maddocks)

Editions:
English Antiquities (Uncommon (U3))
English MTGO Masters Edition IV (Rare)

Languages:
(None)

all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Transmute Artifact
View Decks with Transmute Artifact
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.