Turntimber Grove Zendikar Verdant Catacombs

Valakut, the Molten Pinnacle Valakut, the Molten Pinnacle English


Valakut, the Molten Pinnacle enters the battlefield tapped.

Whenever a Mountain enters the battlefield under your control, if you control at least five other Mountains, you may have Valakut, the Molten Pinnacle deal 3 damage to any target.

{T}: Add {R}.

Illus. Kieran Yanner

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2009: Valakut, the Molten Pinnacle's triggered ability has an “intervening ‘if' clause.” That means (1) the ability won't trigger at all unless, at the time a Mountain enters the battlefield under your control, you control five or more Mountains other than that new one, and (2) the ability will do nothing if you control fewer than five Mountains other than that new one by the time it resolves.
  • 10/1/2009: If a Mountain you control leaves the battlefield between the time Valakut's second ability triggers and the time it resolves, be aware if that was the Mountain that caused Valakut's ability to trigger or not. If it was, Valakut's count isn't affected; if it wasn't, Valakut's count goes down by one.
  • 10/1/2009: If multiple Mountains enter the battlefield under your control at the same time, Valakut's second ability could trigger that many times. Each ability takes into consideration the other Mountains that entered the battlefield at the same time as the one that caused it to trigger.
  • 10/1/2009: You target a permanent or player when the ability triggers. You decide whether to have Valakut deal damage to that permanent or player as the ability resolves.
#228 (Kieran Yanner)

English Zendikar (Rare)
English Magic: The Gathering Launch Parties (Special)

German Valakut, die geschmolzene Zinne
French Valakut, la Cime en fusion
Italian Valakut, il Pinnacolo Fuso
Spanish Valakut, el Pináculo Fundido
Portuguese Valakut, o Pináculo Derretido
Japanese 溶鉄の尖峰、ヴァラクート
Simplified Chinese 熔天顶瓦拉库
Russian Валакут, Расплавленная Вершина

all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Valakut, the Molten Pinnacle
View Decks with Valakut, the Molten Pinnacle
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:

The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.