Terastodon Worldwake Vastwood Zendikon

Vastwood Animist Vastwood Animist English

Creature — Elf Shaman Ally 1/1, 2G (3)

{T}: Target land you control becomes an X/X Elemental creature until end of turn, where X is the number of Allies you control. It's still a land.

He calls on the forests for counsel and summons the earth to his cause.

Illus. Raymond Swanland

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 3/1/2010: A land that becomes a creature may be affected by “summoning sickness.” You can't attack with it or use any of its {tap} abilities (including its mana abilities) unless it began your most recent turn on the battlefield under your control. Note that summoning sickness cares about when that permanent came under your control, not when it became a creature.
  • 3/1/2010: When a land becomes a creature, that doesn't count as having a creature enter the battlefield. The permanent was already on the battlefield; it only changed its types. Abilities that trigger whenever a creature enters the battlefield won't trigger.
  • 3/1/2010: The value of X is determined as Vastwood Animist's activated ability resolves. The power and toughness of the Elemental won't change if the number of Allies you control changes later in the turn.
  • 3/1/2010: If you control no Allies when the ability resolves, the land becomes a 0/0 creature and is put into its owner's graveyard as a state-based action. However, since Vastwood Animist is itself an Ally, the land will usually be at least a 1/1.
Printings:
#116 (Raymond Swanland)

Editions:
English Worldwake (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Riesenholz-Animist
French Animiste de Vastebois
Italian Animista di Boscovasto
Spanish Animista del Bosque Extenso
Portuguese Animista de Matavasta
Japanese 巨森の精霊信者
Simplified Chinese 广林物灵师
Russian Анимист Широколесья
Korean Vastwood Animist


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Vastwood Animist
View Decks with Vastwood Animist
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.