Vow of Flight Commander Windfall

Whirlpool Whelm Whirlpool Whelm English

Instant, 1U (2)

Clash with an opponent, then return target creature to its owner's hand. If you win, you may put that creature on top of its owner's library instead. (Each clashing player reveals the top card of his or her library, then puts that card on the top or bottom. A player wins if his or her card had a higher converted mana cost.)

Illus. Cyril Van Der Haegen

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2007: You choose the target when you play Whirlpool Whelm, not when you clash.
  • 10/1/2007: If you don't win the clash, the targeted creature always goes to its owner's hand. If you win the clash, you choose whether the creature goes to its owner's hand or the top of its owner's library.
  • 10/1/2007: If you clash with the owner of the targeted creature and win, the owner of the creature decides where to put to card revealed during the clash before you decide whether to put the creature on top of that library. You know the player's decision before you make your decision.
#69 (Cyril Van Der Haegen)

English Commander (Common)
English Lorwyn (Common)

German Abkippender Strudel
French Submersion dans le tourbillon
Italian Vortice Travolgente
Spanish Sumergir en el remolino
Portuguese Inundar em Redemoinho
Japanese 渦巻沈め
Simplified Chinese 漩涡压顶
Russian Засасывающая Воронка
Traditional Chinese 漩渦壓頂

all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Whirlpool Whelm
View Decks with Whirlpool Whelm
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:

The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.