Consecrated Sphinx Amonkhet Invocations Counterspell

Counterbalance Counterbalance English

Enchantment, UU (2)

Whenever an opponent casts a spell, you may reveal the top card of your library. If you do, counter that spell if it has the same converted mana cost as the revealed card.

Illus. Joseph Meehan

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 7/15/2006: If an opponent casts a spell with X in its mana cost, the converted mana cost of that spell takes the value of X into account. If you reveal a card with X in its mana cost, X is 0. For example, if your opponent casts Blaze with X=1, Counterbalance will counter that spell if you reveal a card with converted mana cost 2, but it won't counter that spell if you reveal a Blaze of your own.
  • 4/18/2017: If an opponent casts half of a split card (for example, Hit), it won't be countered if you reveal that same split card. The converted mana cost of a split card is determined by the combined mana cost of its two halves, but the converted mana cost of Hit is determined using only that half's mana cost.
#9 (Joseph Meehan)

English Amonkhet Invocations (Special)
English Coldsnap (Uncommon)

German Gegengewicht
French Contrepoids
Italian Controbilanciare
Spanish Contrapesar
Portuguese Contrabalançar
Japanese 相殺
Simplified Chinese 抵销
Russian Противовес

all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Counterbalance
View Decks with Counterbalance
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:

The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.