Golgari Signet Modern Masters 2017 Edition Gruul Signet

Grafdigger's Cage Grafdigger's Cage English

Artifact, 1 (1)

Creature cards can't enter the battlefield from graveyards or libraries.

Players can't cast spells from graveyards or libraries.

"If you wind up in one of mine, you can be sure as silver it will be your last."
—Grafdigger Wulmer

Illus. Daniel Ljunggren

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 3/14/2017: If a creature card tries to enter the battlefield from a graveyard or library, it stays in its current zone.
  • 3/14/2017: The second ability doesn’t stop players from playing land cards from graveyards or libraries since lands aren’t cast.
  • 4/18/2017: A noncreature card can enter the battlefield from a graveyard or library if another card’s effect (such as that of March of the Machines) will make it a creature after it has entered the battlefield.
  • 4/18/2017: If an object has a static ability that could cause it to become a creature or stop being a creature, that ability is considered when applying Grafdigger’s Cage. For example, Rusted Relic can enter the battlefield from a graveyard or library only if you control fewer than three artifacts before it enters. Thassa, God of the Sea can enter only if your devotion to blue is less than five before it enters.
  • 4/18/2017: Applying a replacement effect may cause Grafdigger’s Cage to stop an object from entering the battlefield. For example, Sculpting Steel can enter the battlefield from a graveyard or library only if it’s not entering as a copy of an artifact creature. However, a replacement effect can’t be applied to cause Grafdigger’s Cage to not apply. Phyrexian Metamorph can’t enter the battlefield even if you wish to copy a noncreature artifact.
#221 (Daniel Ljunggren)

English Modern Masters 2017 Edition (Rare)
English Dark Ascension (Rare)

German Käfig des Totengräbers
French Cage du fossoyer de graf
Italian Gabbia del Becchino
Spanish Jaula del cavatumbas
Portuguese Jaula do Escavador de Túmulos
Japanese 墓掘りの檻
Simplified Chinese 挖坟人囚笼
Russian Клетка Раскопщика Могильников
Traditional Chinese 挖墳人囚籠
Korean 시체도둑의 철창

all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Grafdigger's Cage
View Decks with Grafdigger's Cage
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:

The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.