Riftwing Cloudskate Duel Decks: Jace vs. Vraska Errant Ephemeron

Jace's Mindseeker Jace's Mindseeker English

Creature — Fish Illusion 4/4, 4UU (6)


When Jace's Mindseeker enters the battlefield, target opponent puts the top five cards of his or her library into his or her graveyard. You may cast an instant or sorcery card from among them without paying its mana cost.

Illus. Greg Staples

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 7/1/2013: If you cast an instant or sorcery card this way, you do so while the ability of Jace's Mindseeker is resolving. If you choose not to (or can't), you won't get a chance to cast one later.
  • 7/1/2013: “From among them” means the five cards put into the graveyard, not all cards in that graveyard.
  • 7/1/2013: When casting an instant or sorcery card this way, ignore timing restrictions based on the card's type. Other timing restrictions, such as “Cast [this spell] only during combat,” must be followed.
  • 7/1/2013: If you cast a card “without paying its mana cost,” you can't pay alternative costs such as overload costs. You can pay additional costs such as kicker costs. If the card has mandatory additional costs, you must pay those.
  • 7/1/2013: If a card has {X} in its mana cost, you must choose 0 as its value.
  • 7/1/2013: If the five cards are put into a public zone such as exile instead of a graveyard (perhaps due to the ability of Rest in Peace), you can cast one of those instant or sorcery cards from that zone.
#19 (Greg Staples)

English Duel Decks: Jace vs. Vraska (Rare)
English Magic 2014 Core Set (Rare)

German Jaces Gedankensucher
French Cherche-esprit de Jace
Italian Cercamente di Jace
Spanish Buscamentes de Jace
Portuguese Caça-mentes de Jace
Japanese ジェイスの精神追い
Simplified Chinese 杰斯的觅灵影
Russian Мыслеискатель Джейса
Traditional Chinese 傑斯的覓靈影
Korean 제이스의 정신추적자

all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Jace's Mindseeker
View Decks with Jace's Mindseeker
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:

The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.