Jace, Cunning Castaway Ixalan Lookout's Dispersal

Kopala, Warden of Waves Kopala, Warden of Waves English

Legendary Creature — Merfolk Wizard 2/2, 1UU (3)

Spells your opponents cast that target a Merfolk you control cost {2} more to cast.

Abilities your opponents activate that target a Merfolk you control cost {2} more to activate.

"I know these waters better than you know yourselves."

Illus. Magali Villeneuve

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 9/29/2017: To determine the total cost of an opponent's spell that targets a Merfolk you control, start with the mana cost or alternative cost that player is paying, add any cost increases, then apply any cost reductions. The converted mana cost of the spell remains unchanged, no matter what the total cost to cast it was.
  • 9/29/2017: Activated abilities contain a colon. They're generally written “[Cost]: [Effect].”
  • 9/29/2017: Kopala's abilities won't affect triggered abilities (starting with “when,” “whenever,” or “at”) that target a Merfolk you control.
  • 9/29/2017: Spells and abilities that target more than one Merfolk you control cost only {2} more to cast or activate.
Printings:
#61 (Magali Villeneuve)

Editions:
English Ixalan (Rare)

Languages:
German Kopala, Hüter der Wellen
French Kopala, gardien des vagues
Italian Kopala, Custode delle Onde
Spanish Kopala, protector de las olas
Portuguese Kopala, Guardião das Ondas
Japanese 波を司る者、コパラ
Simplified Chinese 波涛护卫柯帕拉
Russian Копалла, Хранитель Волн
Traditional Chinese 波濤護衛柯帕拉
Korean 파도의 관리자 코팔라


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Kopala, Warden of Waves
View Decks with Kopala, Warden of Waves
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.