Kumena's Speaker Ixalan New Horizons

Merfolk Branchwalker Merfolk Branchwalker English

Creature — Merfolk Scout 2/1, 1G (2)

When Merfolk Branchwalker enters the battlefield, it explores. (Reveal the top card of your library. Put that card into your hand if it's a land. Otherwise, put a +1/+1 counter on this creature, then put the card back or put it into your graveyard.)

Illus. Kieran Yanner

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 1/19/2018: Once an ability that causes a creature to explore begins to resolve, no player may take any other actions until it's done. Notably, opponents can't try to remove the exploring creature after you reveal a nonland card but before it receives a counter.
  • 1/19/2018: If no card is revealed, most likely because that player's library is empty, the exploring creature receives a +1/+1 counter.
  • 1/19/2018: If a resolving spell or ability instructs a specific creature to explore but that creature has left the battlefield, the creature still explores. If you reveal a nonland card this way, you won't put a +1/+1 counter on anything, but you may put the revealed card into your graveyard. Effects that trigger “whenever a creature you control explores” trigger if appropriate.
#197 (Kieran Yanner)

English Ixalan (Uncommon)

German Meervolk-Wipfelstürmerin
French Marchebranche ondine
Italian Tritona Calcafronde
Spanish Tritón cruzarramas
Portuguese Andarilha das Copas Tritã
Japanese マーフォークの枝渡り
Simplified Chinese 缘木人鱼
Russian Мерфолк-Древолаз
Traditional Chinese 緣木人魚
Korean 인어 가지보행자

all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Merfolk Branchwalker
View Decks with Merfolk Branchwalker
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:

The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.