Oni of Wild Places Commander Pyrohemia

Punishing Fire Punishing Fire English

Instant, 1R (2)

Punishing Fire deals 2 damage to any target.

Whenever an opponent gains life, you may pay {R}. If you do, return Punishing Fire from your graveyard to your hand.

Illus. Christopher Moeller

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2009: Punishing Fire's triggered ability triggers only if it's already in your graveyard at the time an opponent gains life. For example, you can cast it in response to a spell or ability that will cause an opponent to gain life. In that case, Punishing Fire will resolve first, so it will be in the graveyard by the time the opponent gains life. However, if you wait until an opponent actually gains life and then cast Punishing Fire, you won't be able to return it to your hand at that time.
  • 10/1/2009: You choose whether to pay {R} as the triggered ability resolves.
  • 10/1/2009: If Punishing Fire has left your graveyard by the time its triggered ability resolves, you may still pay {R}, but you won't return it to your hand. This is true even if Punishing Fire has left your graveyard and returned to it by the time its triggered ability resolves.
  • Banned in Modern
#131 (Christopher Moeller)

English Commander (Uncommon)
English Duel Decks: Knights vs. Dragons (Uncommon)
English Zendikar (Uncommon)

German Bestrafendes Feuer
French Feu punitif
Italian Fuoco Punitivo
Spanish Fuego castigador
Portuguese Fogo Punidor
Japanese 罰する火
Simplified Chinese 惩戒火焰
Russian Наказание Огнем

all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Punishing Fire
View Decks with Punishing Fire
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:

The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.