Quest for the Goblin Lord Worldwake Roiling Terrain

Ricochet Trap Ricochet Trap English

Instant — Trap, 3R (4)

If an opponent cast a blue spell this turn, you may pay {R} rather than pay Ricochet Trap's mana cost.

Change the target of target spell with a single target.

In his last seconds, Remhas regretted using his most powerful spell.

Illus. Jaime Jones

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 3/1/2010: If you cast Ricochet Trap for {R}, you don't have to target the blue spell an opponent cast.
  • 3/1/2010: Ricochet Trap targets only the spell whose target will be changed. It doesn't directly affect the original target of that spell or the new target of that spell.
  • 3/1/2010: You don't choose the new target for the spell until Ricochet Trap resolves. You must change the target if possible. However, you can't change the target to an illegal target. If there are no legal targets to choose from, the target isn't changed. It doesn't matter if the original target of that spell has somehow become illegal itself.
  • 3/1/2010: If you cast Ricochet Trap targeting a spell that targets a spell on the stack (like Cancel does, for example), you can't change that spell's target to itself. You can, however, change that spell's target to Ricochet Trap. If you do, that spell will be countered when it tries to resolve because Ricochet Trap will have left the stack by then.
  • 3/1/2010: If a spell targets multiple things, you can't target it with Ricochet Trap, even if all but one of those targets have become illegal.
  • 3/1/2010: If a spell targets the same player or object multiple times, you can't target it with Ricochet Trap.
Printings:
#87 (Jaime Jones)

Editions:
English Worldwake (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Querschläger-Falle
French Piège à ricochet
Italian Trappola a Rimbalzo
Spanish Trampa de rebote
Portuguese Armadilha de Ricochete
Japanese 跳ね返りの罠
Simplified Chinese 跳弹陷阱
Russian Западня с Рикошетом
Korean Ricochet Trap


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Ricochet Trap
View Decks with Ricochet Trap
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.