Burst Lightning Zendikar Demolish

Chandra Ablaze Chandra Ablaze English

Legendary Planeswalker — Chandra (Loyalty: 5), 4RR (6)

+1: Discard a card. If a red card is discarded this way, Chandra Ablaze deals 4 damage to target creature or player.

−2: Each player discards his or her hand, then draws three cards.

−7: Cast any number of red instant and/or sorcery cards from your graveyard without paying their mana costs.

Illus. Steve Argyle

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2009: If you activate Chandra Ablaze's first ability, you don't discard a card until the ability resolves. You may activate the ability even if your hand is empty. You choose a target as you activate the ability even if you have no red cards in hand at that time.
  • 10/1/2009: As the first ability resolves, nothing happens if your hand is empty. But if you have any cards in hand, you must discard one. If you discard a nonred card, Chandra doesn't deal any damage.
  • 10/1/2009: If the creature targeted by the first ability is an illegal target by the time it resolves, the entire ability is countered. You won't discard a card.
  • 10/1/2009: You may activate Chandra's second ability even if your hand is empty. As it resolves, a player whose hand is empty simply draws three cards.
  • 10/1/2009: You cast red instant cards and red sorcery cards from your graveyard as part of the resolution of Chandra Ablaze's third ability. You don't choose which ones to cast until you're actually doing so as the ability resolves. You cast only the ones you want to, and you may cast them in any order. Timing restrictions based on the card's type (if it's a sorcery) are ignored. Other restrictions are not (such as “Cast [this card] only during combat”). Each card you cast this way is put on the stack, then the ability finishes resolving. Those spells will then resolve as normal, one at a time, in the opposite order that they were put on the stack. They'll go back to the graveyard as they resolve.
  • 10/1/2009: If you cast a card “without paying its mana cost,” you can't pay any alternative costs. You can pay additional costs, such as kicker costs.
#120 (Steve Argyle)

English Zendikar (Mythic Rare)

German Chandra die Lodernde
French Chandra embrasée
Italian Chandra in Fiamme
Spanish Chandra en llamas
Portuguese Chandra Incandescente
Japanese 燃え立つチャンドラ
Simplified Chinese 激昂茜卓
Russian Пылающая Чандра

all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Chandra Ablaze
View Decks with Chandra Ablaze
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:

The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.