Cloudthresher Commander 2015 Desert Twister

Cobra Trap Cobra Trap English

Instant — Trap, 4GG (6)

If a noncreature permanent under your control was destroyed this turn by a spell or ability an opponent controlled, you may pay {G} rather than pay Cobra Trap's mana cost.

Create four 1/1 green Snake creature tokens.

Illus. Scott Chou

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2009: You may ignore a Trap's alternative cost condition and simply cast it for its normal mana cost. This is true even if its alternative cost condition has been met.
  • 10/1/2009: Casting a Trap by paying its alternative cost doesn't change its mana cost or converted mana cost. The only difference is the cost you actually pay.
  • 10/1/2009: Effects that increase or reduce the cost to cast a Trap will apply to whichever cost you chose to pay.
  • 10/1/2009: A spell or ability destroys a permanent only if that spell or ability specifically contains the word “destroy” in its text. If a spell or ability an opponent controls exiles a noncreature permanent you control, causes you to sacrifice a noncreature permanent, removes all loyalty counters from a planeswalker you control, or causes an ability you control to trigger (and then that ability destroys a permanent you control), Cobra Trap's alternative cost condition hasn't been met.
Printings:
#180 (Scott Chou)

Editions:
English Commander 2015 (Uncommon)
English Commander (Uncommon)
English Zendikar (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Kobrafalle
French Piège aux cobras
Italian Trappola del Cobra
Spanish Trampa de cobras
Portuguese Armadilha de Cobra
Japanese コブラの罠
Simplified Chinese 眼镜蛇陷阱
Russian Кишащая Кобрами Западня


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Cobra Trap
View Decks with Cobra Trap
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.