Evanescent Intellect Born of the Gods Flitterstep Eidolon

Fated Infatuation Fated Infatuation English

Instant, UUU (3)

Create a token that's a copy of target creature you control. If it's your turn, scry 2. (Look at the top two cards of your library, then put any number of them on the bottom of your library and the rest on top in any order.)

Illus. Winona Nelson

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 9/15/2013: When you scry, you may put all the cards you look at back on top of your library, you may put all of those cards on the bottom of your library, or you may put some of those cards on top and the rest of them on the bottom.
  • 9/15/2013: You choose how to order cards returned to your library after scrying no matter where you put them.
  • 9/15/2013: You perform the actions stated on a card in sequence. For some spells and abilities, that means you’ll scry last. For others, that means you’ll scry and then perform other actions.
  • 9/15/2013: Scry appears on some spells and abilities with one or more targets. If all of the spell or ability’s targets are illegal when it tries to resolve, it will be countered and none of its effects will happen. You won’t scry.
  • 2/1/2014: The token copies exactly what was printed on the original creature and nothing else (unless that permanent is copying something else or is a token; see below). It doesn’t copy whether that creature is tapped or untapped, whether it has any counters on it or Auras and Equipment attached to it, or any non-copy effects that have changed its power, toughness, types, color, and so on.
  • 2/1/2014: If the copied creature has {X} in its mana cost, X is considered to be zero.
  • 2/1/2014: If the copied creature is copying something else (for example, if the copied creature is a Clone), then the token enters the battlefield as whatever that creature copied.
  • 2/1/2014: If the copied creature is a token, the token created by Fated Infatuation copies the original characteristics of that token as stated by the effect that put the token onto the battlefield.
  • 2/1/2014: Any enters-the-battlefield abilities of the copied creature will trigger when the token enters the battlefield. Any “as [this permanent] enters the battlefield” or “[this permanent] enters the battlefield with” abilities of the copied creature will also work.
Printings:
#39 (Winona Nelson)

Editions:
English Born of the Gods (Rare)

Languages:
German Schicksalhafte Verlockung
French Infatuation annoncée
Italian Infatuazione Fatidica
Spanish Obstinación nefasta
Portuguese Paixão Predestinada
Japanese 宿命的心酔
Simplified Chinese 命定迷醉
Russian Предначертанная Одержимость
Traditional Chinese 命定迷醉
Korean 운명적 사랑


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Fated Infatuation
View Decks with Fated Infatuation
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.