Lagonna-Band Trailblazer Journey into Nyx Leonin Iconoclast

Launch the Fleet Launch the Fleet English

Sorcery, W (1)

Strive — Launch the Fleet costs {1} more to cast for each target beyond the first.

Until end of turn, any number of target creatures each gain "Whenever this creature attacks, create a 1/1 white Soldier creature token that's tapped and attacking."

Illus. Karl Kopinski

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 4/26/2014: You declare which player or planeswalker each token is attacking as you put it onto the battlefield. It doesn't have to be the same player or planeswalker the original creature is attacking.
  • 4/26/2014: Although the tokens are attacking, they were never declared as attacking creatures (for purposes of abilities that trigger whenever a creature attacks, for example).
  • 4/26/2014: You choose how many targets each spell with a strive ability has and what those targets are as you cast it. It's legal to cast such a spell with no targets, although this is rarely a good idea. You can't choose the same target more than once for a single strive spell.
  • 4/26/2014: The mana cost and converted mana cost of strive spells don't change no matter how many targets they have. Strive abilities affect only what you pay.
  • 4/26/2014: If all of the spell's targets are illegal when the spell tries to resolve, it will be countered and none of its effects will happen. If one or more of its targets are legal when it tries to resolve, the spell will resolve and affect only those legal targets. It will have no effect on any illegal targets.
  • 4/26/2014: If such a spell is copied, and the effect that copies the spell allows a player to choose new targets for the copy, the number of targets can't be changed. The player may change any number of the targets, including all of them or none of them. If, for one of the targets, the player can't choose a new legal target, then it remains unchanged (even if the current target is illegal).
  • 4/26/2014: If a spell or ability allows you to cast a strive spell without paying its mana cost, you must pay the additional costs for any targets beyond the first.
Printings:
#15 (Karl Kopinski)

Editions:
English Journey into Nyx (Rare)

Languages:
German Die Flotte aussenden
French Déployer la flotte
Italian Arrembaggio della Flotta
Spanish Flota a la carga
Portuguese Lançar a Frota
Japanese 船団の出航
Simplified Chinese 舰队启航
Russian Спуск Флота
Traditional Chinese 艦隊啟航
Korean 함대 출진


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Launch the Fleet
View Decks with Launch the Fleet
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.