Curtains' Call Commander 2016 Parting Thoughts

Magus of the Will Magus of the Will English

Creature — Human Wizard 3/3, 2B (3)

{2}{B}, {T}, Exile Magus of the Will: Until end of turn, you may play cards from your graveyard. If a card would be put into your graveyard from anywhere this turn, exile that card instead.

"These eyes have shown me the flaws of flesh."

Illus. Vincent Proce

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 11/8/2016: Cards that would be put into your graveyard are exiled even if you didn’t play them this turn, such as a nontoken creature that would die.
  • 11/8/2016: Creature tokens are put into your graveyard as normal (and cease to exist soon after). Abilities that trigger when a creature dies can trigger on token creatures being put into your graveyard but won’t trigger on nontoken creatures being exiled instead of being put into your graveyard.
  • 11/8/2016: You pay the costs for a card in your graveyard if you cast it. You may pay alternative costs such as emerge rather than the card’s mana cost.
  • 11/8/2016: You may play a land card from your graveyard only if you have an available land play.
  • 11/8/2016: Magus of the Will doesn’t change when you can play the cards in your graveyard. For example, if you have a creature card without flash in your graveyard, you can cast it only during your main phase while the stack is empty.
  • 11/8/2016: If another effect tries to change where a spell is put as it resolves, such as that of a rebound or buyback ability, you may choose whether to exile the card to Magus of the Will’s effect or to apply the other effect.
Printings:
#14 (Vincent Proce)

Editions:
English Commander 2016 (Rare)

Languages:
German Magus des Willens
French Mage de la volonté
Italian Magus della Volontà
Spanish Mago de la voluntad
Portuguese Magus da Vontade
Japanese 意志の大魔術師
Simplified Chinese 意志贤者


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Magus of the Will
View Decks with Magus of the Will
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.