Ravenous Baloth Commander 2013 Edition Restore

Reincarnation Reincarnation English

Instant, 1GG (3)

Choose target creature. When that creature dies this turn, return a creature card from its owner's graveyard to the battlefield under the control of that creature's owner.

"You cannot imagine what eyes you may look through tomorrow."—Aerona, elder druid

Illus. Steve Prescott

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 4/1/2008: A “creature card” is any card with the type creature, even if it has other types such as artifact, enchantment, or land. Older cards of type summon are also creature cards.
  • 10/1/2009: All Reincarnation does when it resolves is set up a delayed triggered ability. If the targeted creature isn't put into a graveyard this turn, that ability never triggers. If the targeted creature is put into a graveyard this turn, that ability triggers and resolves like any other triggered ability.
  • 10/1/2009: The creature card that will be returned to the battlefield isn't chosen until the delayed triggered ability resolves. The player who chooses is the player who controlled Reincarnation. The player under whose control the chosen creature card enters the battlefield is the player who owned the targeted creature (in other words, the player into whose graveyard it went), not necessarily the controller of that creature.
  • 10/1/2009: The creature that's returned to the battlefield may be the same one that was put into the graveyard (assuming it's still in the graveyard when the delayed triggered ability resolves). If so, it returns to the battlefield as a brand-new creature.
Printings:
#166 (Steve Prescott)

Editions:
English Commander 2013 Edition (Uncommon)
English Legends (Uncommon (U1))
English MTGO Masters Edition III (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Reinkarnation
French Réincarnation
Italian Reincarnazione
Spanish Reencarnación
Japanese 生まれ変わり


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Reincarnation
View Decks with Reincarnation
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.