Wildheart Invoker Rise of the Eldrazi Angelheart Vial

Sarkhan the Mad Sarkhan the Mad English

Planeswalker — Sarkhan (Loyalty: 7), 3BR (5)

0: Reveal the top card of your library and put it into your hand. Sarkhan the Mad deals damage to himself equal to that card's converted mana cost.

−2: Target creature's controller sacrifices it, then that player creates a 5/5 red Dragon creature token with flying.

−4: Each Dragon creature you control deals damage equal to its power to target player.

Illus. Chippy

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 6/15/2010: Unlike previous planeswalkers, Sarkhan the Mad has no way to raise his loyalty.
  • 6/15/2010: Once the first ability starts to resolve and you reveal the top card of your library (and see how much damage Sarkhan the Mad deals to himself), it’s too late to respond.
  • 6/15/2010: The first ability causes Sarkhan to deal damage directly to himself, resulting in that many loyalty counters being removed from him. The damage would never have been dealt to you, so prevention effects that would prevent damage from being dealt to you won’t affect it.
  • 6/15/2010: If the targeted creature is an illegal target by the time the second ability resolves, the ability is countered. The player won’t get a Dragon token.
  • 6/15/2010: If the targeted creature is a legal target by the time the second ability resolves but its controller can’t sacrifice it (due to Tajuru Preserver, perhaps), the ability continues to resolve. That player gets a Dragon token.
  • 6/15/2010: You choose a single target as you activate the third ability. All your Dragons deal damage to that player.
  • 6/15/2010: If you target an opponent with the third ability, you choose separately for each Dragon creature you control whether or not to redirect the damage dealt by that Dragon to a planeswalker that player controls.
#214 (Chippy)

English Rise of the Eldrazi (Mythic Rare)

German Sarkhan der Verrückte
French Sarkhan le Fou
Italian Sarkhan il Folle
Spanish Sarkhan el loco
Portuguese Sarkhan, o Louco
Japanese 狂乱のサルカン
Simplified Chinese 狂人萨坎
Russian Сархан Безумный

all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Sarkhan the Mad
View Decks with Sarkhan the Mad
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:

The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.