Shadow Glider Battle for Zendikar Smite the Monstrous

Sheer Drop Sheer Drop English

Sorcery, 2W (3)

Destroy target tapped creature.

Awaken 3—{5}{W} (If you cast this spell for {5}{W}, also put three +1/+1 counters on target land you control and it becomes a 0/0 Elemental creature with haste. It's still a land.)

Illus. Clint Cearley

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 8/25/2015: You can cast a spell with awaken for its mana cost and get only its first effect. If you cast a spell for its awaken cost, you'll get both effects.
  • 8/25/2015: If the non-awaken part of the spell requires a target, you must choose a legal target. You can't cast the spell if you can't choose a legal target for each instance of the word “target” (though you only need a legal target for the awaken ability if you're casting the spell for its awaken cost).
  • 8/25/2015: If a spell with awaken has multiple targets (including the land you control), and some but not all of those targets become illegal by the time the spell tries to resolve, the spell won't affect the illegal targets in any way.
  • 8/25/2015: If the non-awaken part of the spell doesn't require a target and you cast the spell for its awaken cost, then the spell will be countered if the target land you control becomes illegal before the spell resolves (such as due to being destroyed in response to the spell being cast).
  • 8/25/2015: The land will retain any other types, subtypes, or supertypes it previously had. It will also retain any mana abilities it had as a result of those subtypes. For example, a Forest that's turned into a creature this way can still be tapped for {G}.
  • 8/25/2015: Awaken doesn't give the land you control a color. As most lands are colorless, in most cases the resulting land creature will also be colorless.
Printings:
#48 (Clint Cearley)

Editions:
English Battle for Zendikar (Common)
English Duel Decks: Zendikar vs. Eldrazi (Common)

Languages:
German Sturz in den Abgrund
French Chute à pic
Italian Strapiombo
Spanish Caída en picado
Portuguese Queda Vertiginosa
Japanese 真っ逆さま
Simplified Chinese 垂直掉落
Russian Отвесное Падение
Traditional Chinese 垂直掉落
Korean 수직 낙하


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Sheer Drop
View Decks with Sheer Drop
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.