Retraction Helix Born of the Gods Sphinx's Disciple

Siren of the Fanged Coast Siren of the Fanged Coast English

Creature — Siren 1/1, 3UU (5)

Flying

Tribute 3 (As this creature enters the battlefield, an opponent of your choice may put three +1/+1 counters on it.)

When Siren of the Fanged Coast enters the battlefield, if tribute wasn't paid, gain control of target creature.

Illus. Michael C. Hayes

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 2/1/2014: If the opponent pays tribute, the creature will enter the battlefield with the specified number of +1/+1 counters on it. It won’t enter the battlefield and then have the +1/+1 counters placed on it.
  • 2/1/2014: The choice of whether to pay tribute is made as the creature with tribute is entering the battlefield. At that point, it’s too late to respond to the creature spell. For example, in a multiplayer game, opponents won’t know whether tribute will be paid or which opponent will be chosen to pay tribute or not when deciding whether to counter the creature spell.
  • 2/1/2014: If the triggered ability has a target, that target will not be known while the creature spell with tribute is on the stack.
  • 2/1/2014: Players can’t respond to the tribute decision before the creature enters the battlefield. That is, if the opponent doesn’t pay tribute, the triggered ability will trigger before any player has a chance to remove the creature.
  • 2/1/2014: The triggered ability will resolve even if the creature with tribute isn’t on the battlefield at that time.
  • 4/18/2017: For effects that check which player put counters on the entering creature, the player chosen to pay tribute puts those counters on it, not the creature’s controller.
Printings:
#50 (Michael C. Hayes)

Editions:
English Born of the Gods (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Sirene der Reißzahnküste
French Sirène de la Côte Dentelée
Italian Sirena di Costa delle Zanne
Spanish Sirena de la costa aguzada
Portuguese Sirena da Costa Acidentada
Japanese 牙海岸のセイレーン
Simplified Chinese 毒牙海岸塞连
Russian Сирена с Клыкастого Берега
Traditional Chinese 毒牙海岸塞連
Korean 송곳니 해안의 세이렌


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Siren of the Fanged Coast
View Decks with Siren of the Fanged Coast
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.