Trade Routes Mercadian Masques Waterfront Bouncer

War Tax War Tax English

Enchantment, 2U (3)

{X}{U}: This turn, creatures can't attack unless their controller pays {X} for each attacking creature he or she controls.

The worst thing about being a depraved pirate is having to work with a bunch of depraved pirates.

Illus. Greg & Tim Hildebrandt

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/4/2004: You can choose X=0. This doesn’t have an effect most of the time, but it does mean that creatures can’t attack unless the controller chooses to pay the cost (a cost of zero is not automatically paid, so the controller can choose to not pay).
  • 10/4/2004: The ability only applies to attackers declared after it resolves. It will not add costs to any attackers already announced.
  • 2/1/2007: In the Two-Headed Giant format, you still only have to pay once per creature.
Printings:
#113 (Greg & Tim Hildebrandt)

Editions:
English Mercadian Masques (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Kriegssteuer
French Impôt de guerre
Italian Tassa di Guerra
Spanish Impuesto de guerra
Portuguese Imposto Marcial


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for War Tax
View Decks with War Tax
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.