next 20 cards [ 1-20 ] [ 21-40 ] [ 41-60 ] [ 61-61 ] 61 cards

Annihilate Annihilate English

Instant, 3BB (5)

Destroy target nonblack creature. It can't be regenerated.

Draw a card.

"Whatever Yawgmoth marks, dies. There is no escape."
—Tsabo Tavoc, Phyrexian general

Illus. Kev Walker

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 6/8/2016: If the targeted creature is an illegal target when Annihilate tries to resolve, the entire spell is countered. You won’t draw a card.
Printings:
#79 (Kev Walker)

Editions:
English Eternal Masters (Uncommon)
English Commander 2014 Edition (Uncommon)
English Commander 2013 Edition (Uncommon)
English Invasion (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Vollständige Vernichtung
French Annihilation
Italian Annichilire
Spanish Aniquilar
Portuguese Aniquilar
Japanese 滅殺
Simplified Chinese 歼灭


all prints in all languages

Assassin's Strike Assassin's Strike English

Sorcery, 4BB (6)

Destroy target creature. Its controller discards a card.

When Selesnya missionaries moved into the Shanav Quarter, they faced scorn, ridicule, and ultimately martyrdom.

Illus. Chase Stone

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2012: You must be able to target a creature to cast Assassin’s Strike.
  • 10/1/2012: If the creature is an illegal target when Assassin’s Strike tries to resolve, it will be countered and none of its effects will happen. Its controller won’t discard a card.
  • 7/1/2013: If Assassin’s Strike resolves but the creature isn’t destroyed (perhaps because it regenerated or has indestructible), its controller will discard a card.
Printings:
#57 (Chase Stone)

Editions:
English Return to Ravnica (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Stich der Meuchlerin
French Frappe de l'assassin
Italian Colpo dell'Assassino
Spanish Ataque del asesino
Portuguese Golpe do Assassino
Japanese 暗殺者の一撃
Simplified Chinese 杀手出击
Russian Нападение Убийцы
Traditional Chinese 殺手出擊
Korean 암살자의 일격


all prints in all languages

Betrayal of Flesh Betrayal of Flesh English

Instant, 5B (6)

Choose one —

• Destroy target creature.

• Return target creature card from your graveyard to the battlefield.

Entwine—Sacrifice three lands. (Choose both if you pay the entwine cost.)

Illus. Wayne England

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#58 (Wayne England)

Editions:
English Mirrodin (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Betrug des Fleisches
French Trahison de la chair
Italian Tradimento della Carne
Spanish Traición de la carne
Portuguese Traição da Carne
Japanese 肉体の裏切り


all prints in all languages

Brainspoil Brainspoil English

Sorcery, 3BB (5)

Destroy target creature that isn't enchanted. It can't be regenerated.

Transmute {1}{B}{B} ({1}{B}{B}, Discard this card: Search your library for a card with the same converted mana cost as this card, reveal it, and put it into your hand. Then shuffle your library. Transmute only as a sorcery.)

Illus. Tomas Giorello

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#78 (Tomas Giorello)

Editions:
English Ravnica: City of Guilds (Common)

Languages:
German Hirnsumpfer
French Déliquescence cérébrale
Italian Sciupacervello
Spanish Derritementes
Portuguese Desintegrador de Cérebros
Japanese 脳崩し
Simplified Chinese 坏脑咒
Russian Разжижение разума


all prints in all languages

Broken Visage Broken Visage English

Instant, 4B (5)

Destroy target nonartifact attacking creature. It can't be regenerated. Create a black Spirit creature token. Its power is equal to that creature's power and its toughness is equal to that creature's toughness. Sacrifice the token at the beginning of the next end step.

Illus. Margaret Organ-Kean

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/4/2004: The token creature enters the battlefield under your control regardless of who controlled the targeted creature.
  • 10/1/2008: The Spirit token has the power and toughness of the attacking creature as it last existed on the battlefield.
Printings:
#11 (Margaret Organ-Kean)

Editions:
English Fifth Edition (Rare)
English Homelands (Rare (U1))
English MTGO Masters Edition II (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Gesichtsverlust
French Visage brisé
Italian Immagine Infranta
Spanish Imagen rota
Portuguese Imagem Estilhaçada


all prints in all languages

Burning of Xinye Burning of Xinye English

Sorcery, 4RR (6)

You destroy four lands you control, then target opponent destroys four lands he or she controls. Then Burning of Xinye deals 4 damage to each creature.

Illus. Yang Hong

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2009: Burning of Xinye targets only an opponent. If that player is an illegal target by the time Burning of Xinye resolves, the entire spell is countered.
  • 10/1/2009: The lands that will be destroyed aren’t chosen until Burning of Xinye resolves.
  • 10/1/2009: A land with a regeneration shield on it will regenerate from Burning of Xinye’s destruction effect. However, the spell or ability that creates that shield must be cast or activated before Burning of Xinye starts to resolve.
  • 10/1/2009: In a multiplayer game, only lands controlled by two players (you and the targeted opponent) are destroyed. However, Burning of Xinye will deal 4 damage to each creature, even those controlled by other players.
  • 7/1/2013: As Burning of Xinye resolves, first you destroy four lands you control (all at the same time), then the targeted opponent destroys four lands he or she controls (all at the same time). That player chooses which of his or her lands to destroy. Neither of you can choose to destroy a land with indestructible.
Printings:
#2 (Yang Hong)

Editions:
English From the Vault: Annihilation (Mythic Rare)
English Vintage Masters (Rare)
English Portal Three Kingdoms (Rare)
English MTGO Masters Edition III (Rare)

Languages:
Japanese 新野の火計
Simplified Chinese Burning of Xinye


all prints in all languages

Certain Death Certain Death English

Sorcery, 5B (6)

Destroy target creature. Its controller loses 2 life and you gain 2 life.

Some spirits cling to one person, feasting on the growing fear until a final moment of all-consuming terror.

Illus. Kev Walker

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 7/13/2016: The targeted creature will have already left the battlefield before its controller loses 2 life and you gain 2 life. If it has any abilities that care about gaining or losing life, they won’t apply.
  • 7/13/2016: If the creature becomes an illegal target for Certain Death, no player gains or loses life. If it’s a legal target but isn’t destroyed, most likely due to having indestructible, its controller still loses 2 life and you gain 2 life.
Printings:
#16 (Kev Walker)

Editions:
English Welcome Deck 2017 (Common)
English Eldritch Moon (Common)

Languages:
German Sicherer Tod
French Une mort certaine
Italian Morte Certa
Spanish Muerte segura
Portuguese Morte Certa
Japanese 生命の危機
Simplified Chinese 必死无疑
Russian Верная Смерть
Traditional Chinese 必死無疑
Korean 확실한 죽음


all prints in all languages

Cinder Cloud Cinder Cloud English

Instant, 3RR (5)

Destroy target creature. If a white creature dies this way, Cinder Cloud deals damage to that creature's controller equal to the creature's power.

Illus. JOCK

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#165 (JOCK)

Editions:
English Mirage (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Aschenwolke
French Nuage de cendres
Italian Nube di Cenere
Spanish Nube de cenizas
Portuguese Nuvem de Cinzas Vulcânicas


all prints in all languages

Cobra Trap Cobra Trap English

Instant — Trap, 4GG (6)

If a noncreature permanent under your control was destroyed this turn by a spell or ability an opponent controlled, you may pay {G} rather than pay Cobra Trap's mana cost.

Create four 1/1 green Snake creature tokens.

Illus. Scott Chou

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2009: You may ignore a Trap’s alternative cost condition and simply cast it for its normal mana cost. This is true even if its alternative cost condition has been met.
  • 10/1/2009: Casting a Trap by paying its alternative cost doesn’t change its mana cost or converted mana cost. The only difference is the cost you actually pay.
  • 10/1/2009: Effects that increase or reduce the cost to cast a Trap will apply to whichever cost you chose to pay.
  • 10/1/2009: A spell or ability destroys a permanent only if that spell or ability specifically contains the word “destroy” in its text. If a spell or ability an opponent controls exiles a noncreature permanent you control, causes you to sacrifice a noncreature permanent, removes all loyalty counters from a planeswalker you control, or causes an ability you control to trigger (and then that ability destroys a permanent you control), Cobra Trap’s alternative cost condition hasn’t been met.
Printings:
#180 (Scott Chou)

Editions:
English Commander 2015 (Uncommon)
English Commander (Uncommon)
English Zendikar (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Kobrafalle
French Piège aux cobras
Italian Trappola del Cobra
Spanish Trampa de cobras
Portuguese Armadilha de Cobra
Japanese コブラの罠
Simplified Chinese 眼镜蛇陷阱
Russian Кишащая Кобрами Западня


all prints in all languages

Consume the Meek Consume the Meek English

Instant, 3BB (5)

Destroy each creature with converted mana cost 3 or less. They can't be regenerated.

"Others ask why the Eldrazi destroy. I ask why they preserve."
—Ganda, Goma Fada deserter

Illus. Richard Wright

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#49 (Richard Wright)

Editions:
English Duel Decks: Zendikar vs. Eldrazi (Rare)
English Rise of the Eldrazi (Rare)

Languages:
German Die Sanften auffressen
French Dévorer les humbles
Italian Consumare gli Umili
Spanish Consumir a los mansos
Portuguese Consumir os Humildes
Japanese 弱者の消耗
Simplified Chinese 吞噬弱者
Russian Истребление Кротких


all prints in all languages

Corpsehatch Corpsehatch English

Sorcery, 3BB (5)

Destroy target nonblack creature. Create two 0/1 colorless Eldrazi Spawn creature tokens. They have "Sacrifice this creature: Add {C} to your mana pool."

Illus. Kekai Kotaki

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#50 (Kekai Kotaki)

Editions:
English Duel Decks: Zendikar vs. Eldrazi (Uncommon)
English Rise of the Eldrazi (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Leichenbrut
French Corpcouvoir
Italian Covare Nel Cadavere
Spanish Incubacuerpos
Portuguese Incubadora Cadavérica
Japanese 死骸孵化
Simplified Chinese 尸囊育种
Russian Трупный Рассадник


all prints in all languages

Cruel Revival Cruel Revival English

Instant, 4B (5)

Destroy target non-Zombie creature. It can't be regenerated. Return up to one target Zombie card from your graveyard to your hand.

On Innistrad, Liliana embraced necromancy, honing her powers by practicing on scores of undead—and sometimes the living.

Illus. Miles Johnston

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#88 (Miles Johnston)

Editions:
English Magic Origins (Uncommon)
English Planechase (Common)
English Onslaught (Common)

Languages:
German Grausame Wiederbelebung
French Réanimation cruelle
Italian Rinascita Crudele
Spanish Resucitación cruel
Portuguese Renascimento Cruel
Japanese 残酷な蘇生
Simplified Chinese 残酷复生
Russian Жестокое Оживление
Traditional Chinese 殘酷復生
Korean 가혹한 부활


all prints in all languages

Culling Sun Culling Sun English

Sorcery, 2WWB (5)

Destroy each creature with converted mana cost 3 or less.

"Who truly runs this city? Look to the sky on hallowed days, and see whose sigil is stamped clearly onto the heavens."
—Vuliev of the Ghost Council

Illus. Daren Bader

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#109 (Daren Bader)

Editions:
English Guildpact (Rare)

Languages:
German Aussortierende Sonne
French Soleil du sacrifice
Italian Sole della Selezione
Spanish Sol selectivo
Portuguese Sol Seletor
Japanese 選別の太陽
Simplified Chinese 无情烈日
Russian Выжигающее солнце


all prints in all languages

Curtains' Call Curtains' Call English

Instant, 5B (6)

Undaunted (This spell costs {1} less to cast for each opponent.)

Destroy two target creatures.

"We give the audience what they want."
—Juri, proprietor of the Juri Revue

Illus. James Ryman

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 11/8/2016: You can’t cast Curtains’ Call without two creatures to target. If one becomes an illegal target after you’ve cast Curtains’ Call, the other will still be destroyed.
  • 11/8/2016: Causing an opponent to lose the game after you’ve announced that you’re casting a spell with undaunted and determined its total cost won’t cause you to have to pay more mana.
  • 11/8/2016: Effects that reduce what you pay to cast a spell don’t affect its converted mana cost. Sublime Exhalation’s converted mana cost is 7, regardless of how many opponents you have or how much mana you spent to cast it.
Printings:
#13 (James Ryman)

Editions:
English Commander 2016 (Rare)

Languages:
German Schlussakt
French Grand numéro
Italian Cala il Sipario
Spanish Ovación final
Portuguese Cai o Pano
Japanese 幕切れ
Simplified Chinese 谢幕演出


all prints in all languages

Dark Offering Dark Offering English

Sorcery, 4BB (6)

Destroy target nonblack creature. You gain 3 life.

"Our greatest hope has become our enemy's greatest triumph."
—Court counselor

Illus. Edward P. Beard, Jr.

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#75 (Edward P. Beard, Jr.)

Editions:
English Starter 1999 (Uncommon)
English Portal Second Age (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Schwarze Gabe
French Offrande ténébreuse
Italian Offerta Oscura
Spanish Ofrenda sinsiestra
Portuguese [missing]


all prints in all languages

Dark Withering Dark Withering English

Instant, 4BB (6)

Destroy target nonblack creature.

Madness {B} (If you discard this card, discard it into exile. When you do, cast it for its madness cost or put it into your graveyard.)

Illus. Wayne Reynolds

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#101 (Wayne Reynolds)

Editions:
English Time Spiral (Common)

Languages:
German Dunkles Verdorren
French Obscur flétrissement
Italian Avvizzimento Oscuro
Spanish Agotamiento siniestro
Portuguese Definhamento Sombrio
Japanese 闇の萎縮
Simplified Chinese 黯境枯萎
Russian Темное Испепеление


all prints in all languages

Dead Ringers Dead Ringers English

Sorcery, 4B (5)

Destroy two target nonblack creatures unless either one is a color the other isn't. They can't be regenerated.

"Beautiful, isn't it?" crowed Crovax. "They fought together. Now they will die together."

Illus. Greg Staples

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/4/2004: Both of the target creatures must be exactly the same color or combination of colors. Both being colorless is also okay. If they differ in any way, you can still cast the spell, but it does not do anything on resolution.
  • 10/4/2004: Colors are checked on resolution.
  • 10/4/2004: If one of the targets left the battlefield before resolution, use the colors it had at the time it left the battlefield for the comparison.
  • 10/4/2004: If one of the targets became an illegal target before resolution, this spell will still check the color of that target even though it will not destroy that target.
Printings:
#37 (Greg Staples)

Editions:
English Apocalypse (Common)

Languages:
German Todesgeläute
French Ménage mortel
Italian Anelli Mortali
Spanish Similitud mortal
Portuguese Ciranda da Morte


all prints in all languages

Death Mutation Death Mutation English

Sorcery, 6BG (8)

Destroy target nonblack creature. It can't be regenerated. Create X 1/1 green Saproling creature tokens, where X is that creature's converted mana cost.

Illus. Carl Critchlow

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 8/1/2008: If the target is illegal on resolution, the entire spell is countered. As such, you will not put any tokens onto the battlefield.
Printings:
#192 (Carl Critchlow)

Editions:
English Commander (Uncommon)
English Apocalypse (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Mutation des Todes
French Mutation mortelle
Italian Mutazione Mortale
Spanish Mutación de muerte
Portuguese Mutação da Morte
Japanese 死の突然変異


all prints in all languages

Death Rattle Death Rattle English

Instant, 5B (6)

Delve (Each card you exile from your graveyard while casting this spell pays for {1}.)

Destroy target nongreen creature. It can't be regenerated.

Illus. Vance Kovacs

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 6/7/2013: Delve reduces only the generic mana requirement of the spell.
  • 6/7/2013: If you sacrifice permanents or discard cards while casting the spell (for example, activating the mana ability of Blood Pet), those cards can be exiled using delve to reduce the spell’s cost.
Printings:
#78 (Vance Kovacs)

Editions:
English Modern Masters (Uncommon)
English Future Sight (Common)

Languages:
German Klapper des Todes
French Râle
Italian Sonaglio Letale
Spanish Estertor de muerte
Portuguese Crotalus Mortífero
Japanese 死に際の喘ぎ
Simplified Chinese 夺命撼响
Russian Предсмертный Хрип


all prints in all languages

Death's Caress Death's Caress English

Sorcery, 3BB (5)

Destroy target creature. If that creature was a Human, you gain life equal to its toughness.

The faint smell of cloves, the rustling of the wind, and a paralyzing descent into an airless, fathomless tomb.

Illus. James Ryman

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 1/22/2011: Check the creature as it last existed on the battlefield to determine if it was a Human. If it was, use its toughness as it last existed on the battlefield to determine how much life is gained.
  • 1/22/2011: If the target creature isn’t on the battlefield or is otherwise an illegal target when Death’s Caress tries to resolve, Death’s Caress is countered and none of its effects will happen. You won’t gain any life.
  • 7/1/2013: If Death’s Caress resolves but the target creature isn’t destroyed, perhaps because it has indestructible or it regenerated, you still check if it’s a Human. If so, you’ll gain life equal to its toughness.
Printings:
#59 (James Ryman)

Editions:
English Dark Ascension (Common)

Languages:
German Umarmung des Todes
French Caresse de la mort
Italian Carezza della Morte
Spanish Caricia de la muerte
Portuguese Carícia da Morte
Japanese 死の愛撫
Simplified Chinese 死亡抚触
Russian Ласка Смерти
Traditional Chinese 死亡撫觸
Korean 죽음의 손길


all prints in all languages

next 20 cards [ 1-20 ] [ 21-40 ] [ 41-60 ] [ 61-61 ] 61 cards


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.