Boros Signet Modern Masters 2017 Edition Dimir Signet

Damping Matrix Damping Matrix English

Artifact, 3 (3)

Activated abilities of artifacts and creatures can't be activated unless they're mana abilities.

The priests tried cursing it. The mages tried dispelling it. In the end, they all obeyed it.

Illus. Mike Dringenberg

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 3/14/2017: Activated abilities contain a colon. They're generally written “[Cost]: [Effect].” Some keyword abilities, such as equip, are activated abilities and will have colons in their reminder text.
  • 3/14/2017: A mana ability is an ability that produces mana, not an ability that costs mana.
  • 3/14/2017: Damping Matrix's ability affects only artifacts and creatures on the battlefield. Activated abilities that work in other zones (such as bloodrush or unearth) can still be activated. Triggered abilities (starting with “when,” “whenever,” or “at”) are unaffected.
#218 (Mike Dringenberg)

English Modern Masters 2017 Edition (Rare)
English Mirrodin (Rare)

German Dämpfende Matrix
French Matrice d'amortissement
Italian Matrice Smorzante
Spanish Matriz de amortiguamiento
Portuguese Matriz Amortecedora
Japanese 減衰のマトリックス
Simplified Chinese 滞阻间质

all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Damping Matrix
View Decks with Damping Matrix
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:

The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.